![]() |
|
|
|||
If the player was in the air when she caught the ball, and then landed with her toes in the FC, and then put the heels on the ground in the BC, it's legal, I think.
If she caught the ball while on the ground, then I agree it's a violation. |
|
|||
You are correct. Player is given leeway for normal landing actions.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
i'm not going to require her to come down exactly flat footed etc…natural landing ok as others have said. but if, as in the play here, she hangs up on the toes in front court, (not natural) then puts heels down still a violation.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I think the same concept applies. |
|
|||
Quote:
a normal landing can vary i suppose if another player is around but if player catches ball with one foot in front court and just lets one foot hang in air (because he is being abnormal)that is not normal landing. if he then puts the foot in the back court i am going to call the violation. same with the toes. i will give player every opportunity to make a normal landing but if he or she is on toes and stays there, as opposed to coming down normally, and then puts heels down, I'm going to call the violation. because that's not normal... Last edited by BigCat; Fri Dec 12, 2014 at 12:57pm. |
|
|||
9.9.1 SITUATION A:
A1 catches the throw-in pass with one foot on the floor in A's frontcourt and the other foot not touching the floor. The non-pivot foot then comes down in A's backcourt. RULING: Violation. Player and team control are established in A's frontcourt when A1 catches the throw-in pass. The violation occurs when A1 subsequently touches the backcourt with the non-pivot foot. (4-12-6; 9-9-3) |
|
|||
Quote:
Bob: Per NFHS R9-S9-A3 and NFHS Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B(a) the play in the OP is a violation. R9-S9-A3: During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B: During a jump ball, A1 taps the ball. A2 takes off from Team A's frontcourt and catches the ball while in the air. A2 lands with: (a) both feet in frontcourt and then steps to backcourt with one foot; (b) one foot in backcourt and one in the frontcourt; or (c) both feet in the backcourt. RULING: Team control is not established until A2 catches the ball. Violation in (a). Legal in (b) and (c). (4-12-6; 9-9-3) A2's landed with both feet in Team A's Front Court. Per rule, landing with both feet in the Front Court does not meet the exception that the rule describes. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Coach Bill; Sun Dec 14, 2014 at 01:28am. |
|
|||
Quote:
That makes the call even easier: Backcourt Violation. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
On an out-of-bounds play, you can't jump from your backcourt, catch the ball in the air and land on midcourt line with both feet?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Why can't you land on the Division Line? There is not Mid-Court Line. In the Ancient Days there use to be a Mid-Court Area in the Front Court. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Before The Frontcourt Got Circumcised ...
Misty water-colored memories. Frontcourt divided into a midcourt, and a forecourt. Closely guarded dribbler got a new count as he dribbled forward over the midcourt line, designated by a 28 foot hash mark, that we still see on some very old courts. It was legally possible for a closely guarded ball handler to possess the ball for sixteen seconds; holding, dribbling in the midcourt (dribble past the midcourt line), dribbling in the front court, and holding (four seconds each).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
Coach: My post which your are quoting is in response to Bob Jenkins post which said that it would not be a BC Violation if A2 had caught the ball while in the air, and not to the OP. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Quote:
"Per NFHS R9-S9-A3 and NFHS Casebook Play 9.9.1 Situation B(a) the play in the OP is a violation." The OP doesn't mention a jump or if there was one, where it originated. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Going to the 'toes'. | bseybs32 | Basketball | 26 | Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:02am |
Just the toes or the whole foot? | Adam | Football | 13 | Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:33am |
Steppin on toes | chris s | Baseball | 33 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:36pm |
Girls ball--gotta be on your toes | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 52 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 05:28pm |
Brad is on his toes. | mick | Basketball | 3 | Tue Sep 03, 2002 03:43am |