The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2014, 10:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
so if the buzzer sounds because of a mistake, even a tenth of a second before the shot is released, then the refs have to wave it off even though they know it would have counted?
Yes. Put the .1 back on the clock and administer another throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 11, 2014, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes. Put the .1 back on the clock and administer another throw-in.
If the officials have a count that confirms that the clock was started a tenth of a second too early.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 01:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,014
NFHS answered this for us a couple of years ago.

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,168
Yes -- but if it's not in the current case book, ....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2014, 08:38am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes -- but if it's not in the current case book, ....
I heard that!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
before the horn? texaspaul Basketball 2 Sun Dec 09, 2007 09:20pm
Around the Horn Coach P Softball 2 Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:31am
air horn tmuckel Volleyball 2 Tue Oct 16, 2007 09:32am
horn? just another ref Basketball 16 Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:23pm
Horn Goes Off SCBroncos Basketball 18 Fri Mar 09, 2001 12:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1