![]() |
|
|||
Camron and I have differed over this Ruling for years and I understand his position.
And yes, there was an NFHS Casebook Play or Pre-Season Rules Interpretation a few years ago, the logic the Rules Committees going back to the days of the NBCUSC is: That A1's act of touching the ball in Team A's Backcourt combines both the LAST to touch in Team A's Front Court BEFOFRE the Ball obtained Backcourt status with being the FIRST to touch AFTER the Ball obtained Backcourt status. Meaning the LAST to touch in the Front Court and the FIRST to touch in the Back Court are simultaneous acts. This is the interpretation for both boys'/girls' H.S. and men's college basketball when I played basketball in H.S. (I graduated from H.S. in 1969 and my H.S. coach was an OhioHSAA registered official from the late 1940's until he retired from coaching.) and that is the interpretation (re-enforced by the NFHS with its "recent" interpretation since I started officiating in 1971. I know that the way the rule is written creates ambiguity at the least. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Opinion - Thank You Appropriate? | BballRookie | Basketball | 6 | Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:25pm |
Your opinion...please | DrMooreReferee | Football | 30 | Tue Sep 14, 2010 01:46pm |
How about an opinion: | Tim C | Baseball | 96 | Thu Aug 05, 2010 09:37pm |
opinion, please | Carbide Keyman | Baseball | 6 | Sat May 14, 2005 09:39pm |
I need your opinion | Ref in PA | Basketball | 13 | Tue Nov 19, 2002 09:41am |