The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 01:08am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ROP procedure is for exactly this situation.

If A is still in the huddle put the ball on the floor. A must call a TO, or violate (either by 10 seconds elapsing or entering the FT semi-circle).

If B is still in the huddle, give the ball to A and indicate a delayed violation on B. Repeat the process if the first shot is good.

Any second delay is a T.
Not that I don't believe you, but could you cite the rule for a violation on A1 if they enter the FT circle after the ball is placed on the floor? What is the point of going through all this motion when really the only two options are a violation or a Timeout? Why wouldn't the rules state: If A1 isn't in the Semicircle when the official is ready to administer the FT, a whistle shall be sounded and the coach is given the option for a TO or FT violation.

This would save time I think. As no coach knows the rule well enough to think about going for a TOP or just taking the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 01:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Not that I don't believe you, but could you cite the rule for a violation on A1 if they enter the FT circle after the ball is placed on the floor? What is the point of going through all this motion when really the only two options are a violation or a Timeout? Why wouldn't the rules state: If A1 isn't in the Semicircle when the official is ready to administer the FT, a whistle shall be sounded and the coach is given the option for a TO or FT violation.

This would save time I think. As no coach knows the rule well enough to think about going for a TOP or just taking the violation.
9.1.3 SITUATION J:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T or Delay? Coltdoggs Basketball 13 Thu Mar 06, 2008 03:13pm
T for Delay dan74 Basketball 2 Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:19am
Delay on B? dumbref Football 17 Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm
Delay T Dan_ref Basketball 7 Sun Feb 01, 2004 07:53am
Delay after TO physicsref Basketball 26 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1