The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2014, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by phansen View Post
NFHS

Had warned both teams about getting their players out of the huddle and to be ready to play by the second horn earlier in the game.
A1 is at the free throw line to shoot a two shot foul. Team A requests and is granted a timeout after the first free throw. Second timeout horn sounds and team A has not yet broken their huddle. What are the choices to proceed? Wait? Technical? What if Team A was ready and Team B was not ready after the second horn?

The ROP procedure is for exactly this situation.

If A is still in the huddle put the ball on the floor. A must call a TO, or violate (either by 10 seconds elapsing or entering the FT semi-circle).

If B is still in the huddle, give the ball to A and indicate a delayed violation on B. Repeat the process if the first shot is good.

Any second delay is a T.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 01:01am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ROP procedure is for exactly this situation.

If A is still in the huddle put the ball on the floor. A must call a TO, or violate (either by 10 seconds elapsing or entering the FT semi-circle).

If B is still in the huddle, give the ball to A and indicate a delayed violation on B. Repeat the process if the first shot is good.

Any second delay is a T.
Clarify for me, in the situation where B isn't occupying the lowest blocks, are they warned for delay on the first shot if it is good? or you just treat it as if nothing happened and then A1 shoots the second. If B isn't in position for the second FT and the FT is good, what is the ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 01:13am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Clarify for me, in the situation where B isn't occupying the lowest blocks, are they warned for delay on the first shot if it is good? or you just treat it as if nothing happened and then A1 shoots the second. If B isn't in position for the second FT and the FT is good, what is the ruling?
BillyMac already posted it above:

10.1.5 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled by B1 during an unsuccessful try and is
awarded two free throws. Team B requests and is granted a charged 60-second time-out. Team B disregards the 15-second warning signal and the signal ending the time-out and is still huddling with their coach at the end of the charged timeout.

RULING: The official shall administer the first free throw using the resumption-of-play procedure and a violation occurs if it is missed. If two B players are not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed. If the first attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. (9-1-2; 10-1-5b)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Clarify for me, in the situation where B isn't occupying the lowest blocks, are they warned for delay on the first shot if it is good? or you just treat it as if nothing happened and then A1 shoots the second. If B isn't in position for the second FT and the FT is good, what is the ruling?
Maybe that's your confusion. there is no warning for this.

The "resumption of play" allows you to re-start the game after a TO when your only other choice would be a T. So, you can start without B occupying the lower spots.

If the shot is missed, then A gets a replacement FT. If B is not in place for the replacement FT, then it's a T on B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 10:56am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Maybe that's your confusion. there is no warning for this.

The "resumption of play" allows you to re-start the game after a TO when your only other choice would be a T. So, you can start without B occupying the lower spots.

If the shot is missed, then A gets a replacement FT. If B is not in place for the replacement FT, then it's a T on B.
If the first attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. <--- this is the part that doesn't make sense. If the bucket is good there is no violation. It says the same procedure, which to me means. For the second shot, if it is good you have nothing. If there is a miss, a delayed violation is called on B and a replacement throw is awarded. If the second is made, then you have no delayed violation and no warning or T for delay. The ball will be dead and b will need to throw the ball in within 5 seconds. What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 03:54pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
If the first attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. <--- this is the part that doesn't make sense. If the bucket is good there is no violation. It says the same procedure, which to me means. For the second shot, if it is good you have nothing. If there is a miss, a delayed violation is called on B and a replacement throw is awarded. If the second is made, then you have no delayed violation and no warning or T for delay. The ball will be dead and b will need to throw the ball in within 5 seconds. What am I missing?
Failure to provide players to the lower block on consecutive free throws is a T.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If the shot is missed, then A gets a replacement FT. If B is not in place for the replacement FT, then it's a T on B.
Would you allow A to shoot the replacement FT before calling the T?

IMO, I would call the T. Clear the lane to shoot the replacement FT. Allow Team A to shoot the Technical FTs. Division line throw-in for team A.

The alternative would be to allow A to shoot the replacement FT. If he missed, allow another replacement FT followed by the T FTs. Gets a little messy but not completely unreasonable.

Last edited by Scratch85; Tue Dec 09, 2014 at 05:03pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 06:08pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Would you allow A to shoot the replacement FT before calling the T?

IMO, I would call the T. Clear the lane to shoot the replacement FT. Allow Team A to shoot the Technical FTs. Division line throw-in for team A.

The alternative would be to allow A to shoot the replacement FT. If he missed, allow another replacement FT followed by the T FTs. Gets a little messy but not completely unreasonable.
At this point, treat it like any other time where B refuses to put two players in their spots. You can't administer the FT until they have them in place, so when they still fail to come out, just call the T rather than go through the motions again. Replacement shot will be taken with the lane clear. Now they can continue their timeout a bit longer.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Would you allow A to shoot the replacement FT before calling the T?
Right from the case play: If two B players are not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 11:20pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Right from the case play: If two B players are not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed.
Yes but what if there is no replacement throw? What if the FT shooter makes all of their FT's. I don't think the rule covers this.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 01:08am
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The ROP procedure is for exactly this situation.

If A is still in the huddle put the ball on the floor. A must call a TO, or violate (either by 10 seconds elapsing or entering the FT semi-circle).

If B is still in the huddle, give the ball to A and indicate a delayed violation on B. Repeat the process if the first shot is good.

Any second delay is a T.
Not that I don't believe you, but could you cite the rule for a violation on A1 if they enter the FT circle after the ball is placed on the floor? What is the point of going through all this motion when really the only two options are a violation or a Timeout? Why wouldn't the rules state: If A1 isn't in the Semicircle when the official is ready to administer the FT, a whistle shall be sounded and the coach is given the option for a TO or FT violation.

This would save time I think. As no coach knows the rule well enough to think about going for a TOP or just taking the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2014, 01:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Not that I don't believe you, but could you cite the rule for a violation on A1 if they enter the FT circle after the ball is placed on the floor? What is the point of going through all this motion when really the only two options are a violation or a Timeout? Why wouldn't the rules state: If A1 isn't in the Semicircle when the official is ready to administer the FT, a whistle shall be sounded and the coach is given the option for a TO or FT violation.

This would save time I think. As no coach knows the rule well enough to think about going for a TOP or just taking the violation.
9.1.3 SITUATION J:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T or Delay? Coltdoggs Basketball 13 Thu Mar 06, 2008 03:13pm
T for Delay dan74 Basketball 2 Sat Dec 01, 2007 09:19am
Delay on B? dumbref Football 17 Sat Oct 29, 2005 01:13pm
Delay T Dan_ref Basketball 7 Sun Feb 01, 2004 07:53am
Delay after TO physicsref Basketball 26 Thu Dec 06, 2001 09:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1