![]() |
|
|
|||
I also agree. Once "deemed" a try your covered by rule to let him catch dribble etc. I may deem every thrown ball that hits backboard a try. Even when they are obviously a pass...I understand the practical way to deal with it.
The play we are talking about though says it is a pass. The play is not deeming it a try. It's says it is ok because it is part of teams equipment...I don't see where that comes from in the actual rules is all I'm saying. Thx for replying. |
|
|||
Off My Headband, All Net ...
So ... if I'm a dribbler, and I end my dribble, I could the bounce the ball off my headband (equipment), allow the ball to fall to the floor, and legally pick the ball up. Can I now legally start a new dribble?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
P.s. Doesn't say much for your teammates that you have to pass it off your head rather than to them😊 |
|
|||
Fisting Illegal, Heading Legal ???
Me, to the player, "That's using your head".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Stupid NFHS Casebook Play ...
Then will you allow said player to start a new dribble?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
If it is an obvious pass off of the board, really obvious that it is a pass, I wouldn't let him dribble. RULES to me say he shouldn't be able to catch it as we discussed…case book play says he can. rules as we know and you have pointed out don't allow player to dribble again. case book play doesn't say he can do that. having said all that...
if i can call the throw off the board a try I'm going to do that. then when he catches and dribbles there is rule support for it... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
the case play says a pass can be caught off of the back board because it is the players own "equipment." you are right that is all it says. i don't think the rules really support that conclusion but the case book play says he can catch it. the rules also would not let him dribble again. but, if i say the throw off of the back board was a "try" and not a pass then he can catch it and then dribble it again etc. it becomes a rebound… if i can call it a try that is what i would do…. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
New FK rule interpretation? | Ref1973 | Football | 8 | Wed Sep 10, 2014 09:57am |
Fiba lane violation interpretation | Brazen | Basketball | 5 | Thu Aug 08, 2013 02:30pm |
FIBA Rule Interpretation | Teigan | Basketball | 12 | Fri Jul 13, 2007 07:06am |
Need a Rule Interpretation | Blu_IN | Softball | 29 | Mon Nov 07, 2005 06:11pm |
I would like your interpretation of this rule | drumbum565 | Baseball | 37 | Thu Jun 23, 2005 04:12pm |