The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 02:06pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 643
Intentional Foul and Throw In

Trying to get my arms around 2 different scenarios:

1) B1 commits intentional foul on A1 with a 2 handed shove in the back that results in A1 crashing into the wall behind basket.

2) B1 slaps the wrist of A1 on the throw- in underneath the basket resulting in an intentional foul.

In the above after the FTs..does Team A have a designated spot throw in or can they run the line?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Trying to get my arms around 2 different scenarios:

1) B1 commits intentional foul on A1 with a 2 handed shove in the back that results in A1 crashing into the wall behind basket.

2) B1 slaps the wrist of A1 on the throw- in underneath the basket resulting in an intentional foul.

In the above after the FTs..does Team A have a designated spot throw in or can they run the line?
If they had the endline priviledge before the foul, they retain it after the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 02:46pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
If they had the endline priviledge before the foul, they retain it after the foul.
Assuming NFHS, that's only true if the foul is a common foul. The scenario presented will always result in a designated spot throw-in after the FTs.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
If they had the endline priviledge before the foul, they retain it after the foul.
That is true under NCAAW rules, but not under FED rules.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Retaining the end line privilege only applies for a common foul. I should know, I missed a similar question on my association exam last year.

And if I see a scenario like #1, I'm calling it flagrant.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 03:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Assuming NFHS, that's only true if the foul is a common foul. The scenario presented will always result in a designated spot throw-in after the FTs.
Thanks for the clarification. That seems to go clearly against the intent of that rule. Taking away the endline priviledge seems to help out the team who committed the foul.

Anyone have a rationale?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Thanks for the clarification. That seems to go clearly against the intent of that rule. Taking away the endline priviledge seems to help out the team who committed the foul.

Anyone have a rationale?
The FTs for the IF/Flagrant in combination with the possession are considered to be enough of a penalty/compensation. Getting those 2 extra points is worth far more than being able to run the line.

In other cases, the endline run is retained because the the throwin is the only compensation for the infraction. The loss of the running privileges would be the only real effect, a benefit for the team committing the infraction instead of a penalty.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 04:18pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Wow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Thanks for the clarification. That seems to go clearly against the intent of that rule. Taking away the endline priviledge seems to help out the team who committed the foul.

Anyone have a rationale?
7.5.7D reiterates what has been correctly stated above. No rationale here. In fact, this is another one of those "Ten Rules I Don't Think are Fair." That's two this week that have come up here.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2014, 05:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,855
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
7.5.7D.
7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps
out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is
completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end
line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant)
foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on
the end line. (7-5-4b)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2014, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps
out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is
completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end
line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant)
foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on
the end line. (7-5-4b)
Thanks BillyMac.

I don't agree, but they don't pay me for my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2014, 12:20pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
7.5.7 SITUATION D: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps
out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is
completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end
line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant)
foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on
the end line. (7-5-4b)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Thanks BillyMac.

I don't agree, but they don't pay me for my opinion.
Once the offense has been given an opportunity to score (2 free throws), there is no need to run the end line. The defense no longer has gained an advantage with the foul.

On a common foul, not allowing the offense to run the end line would give the defense an advantage in fouling.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional foul on throw-in AKOFL Basketball 42 Wed Mar 03, 2010 06:04pm
Intentional foul on throw in lukealex Basketball 13 Thu Mar 29, 2007 09:27pm
Throw in for intentional foul Jim Henry Basketball 2 Tue Nov 08, 2005 04:54pm
throw-in rule after an intentional foul RefLarry Basketball 4 Sat Nov 05, 2005 05:06am
Throw-in after intentional foul Rev.Ref63 Basketball 1 Thu Dec 05, 2002 10:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1