![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
If the player in white heaves it toward the wrong basket and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air does it count if it goes in?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know you know the answer to this.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Actually, I see two different ways to look at it. What are you saying?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
A try is only at one's own basket.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
5.2.1 says that when the officials allow the teams to go in the wrong direction all points scored count as if they had gone in the right direction. When the officials allowed the wrong team to complete the throw-in and didn't blow it dead, as far as I'm concerned, they "allowed the teams to go the wrong way."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jul 10, 2014 at 08:38pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The example given is at the beginning of the game. Why would that not apply if it happened at some other point? What do you do if you discover in the midst of the proceedings that the teams are going the wrong way and you don't know when they started?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
5.2.1 SITUATION E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team
properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket. RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error. 5.2.1 SITUATION F: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. Several baskets are scored before it is recognized that both teams are throwing the ball into the opponent’s basket. RULING: All points scored count as if the teams had gone the right direction and scored in their own basket. Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with each team attempting to score in its own basket. (4-5-4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
This scenario was taught in my training several years ago. It stood out as one of the few scenarios that I was completely unaware of as a player. But it makes sense -- not a try for goal, so treat it like a pass; ball is dead -- no basket. Same thing if the player driving for a layup at the wrong basket is fouled while attempting a shot at the wrong basket; not a shooting foul.
|
|
|||
|
No points given, ball is dead when horn goes off unless on a shot.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Brain Lapse | tcblue13 | Softball | 12 | Thu May 07, 2009 03:52pm |
| Where is your focus? | JS 20 | Basketball | 85 | Sun Jan 27, 2008 03:39pm |
| Focus | fullor30 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:57am |
| [Slight;y OT] What does 'more' than mean? | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 1 | Mon Feb 06, 2006 05:45pm |
| Slight BRD glich, Carl | chris s | Baseball | 0 | Tue Jan 23, 2001 10:18pm |