The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 09, 2014, 04:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,526
Before The Buzzer ???

Backcourt violation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 05:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Backcourt violation?
From what I can tell the violation coincided with the on-screen clock hitting 0:00. Move along, nothing to see here...

Had this happen in a BV game two seasons ago ('12-13) after a missed FT. B1 got the rebound and - realizing he was wide open - scored into the wrong basket. Happily my partner and I shut it down before things got completely out of hand, i.e., before Team A completed the throw-in.

I even remembered to tell the scorer the goal wasn't credited to anyone on Team A!
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 07:02am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If the player in white heaves it toward the wrong basket and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air does it count if it goes in?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 07:09am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the player in white heaves it toward the wrong basket and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air does it count if it goes in?
Rhetorical questions, or quizzing our newbies?

I know you know the answer to this.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 05:22pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Rhetorical questions, or quizzing our newbies?

I know you know the answer to this.

Actually, I see two different ways to look at it. What are you saying?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 05:45pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Actually, I see two different ways to look at it. What are you saying?
A try is only at one's own basket.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 06:20pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
A try is only at one's own basket.
5.2.1 says that when the officials allow the teams to go in the wrong direction all points scored count as if they had gone in the right direction. When the officials allowed the wrong team to complete the throw-in and didn't blow it dead, as far as I'm concerned, they "allowed the teams to go the wrong way."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the player in white heaves it toward the wrong basket and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air does it count if it goes in?
This scenario was taught in my training several years ago. It stood out as one of the few scenarios that I was completely unaware of as a player. But it makes sense -- not a try for goal, so treat it like a pass; ball is dead -- no basket. Same thing if the player driving for a layup at the wrong basket is fouled while attempting a shot at the wrong basket; not a shooting foul.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 11, 2014, 07:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Negaunee Michigan
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If the player in white heaves it toward the wrong basket and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air does it count if it goes in?
No points given, ball is dead when horn goes off unless on a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Backcourt violation?
If you're going to go there, shouldn't you have a delay of game warning at the time of the throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 10, 2014, 10:38am
Official & Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
If you're going to go there, shouldn't you have a delay of game warning at the time of the throw in?
That's what I was thinking.
__________________
Calling it both ways...since 1999
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brain Lapse tcblue13 Softball 12 Thu May 07, 2009 03:52pm
Where is your focus? JS 20 Basketball 85 Sun Jan 27, 2008 03:39pm
Focus fullor30 Basketball 10 Tue Nov 27, 2007 10:57am
[Slight;y OT] What does 'more' than mean? assignmentmaker Basketball 1 Mon Feb 06, 2006 05:45pm
Slight BRD glich, Carl chris s Baseball 0 Tue Jan 23, 2001 10:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1