![]() |
Slight lapse of focus....
Got this from the Basketball Referee Facebook group. It speaks for itself.
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/8TbIGH_x-Uk?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
saved by the bell ... I wonder how long that would have gone on for if the quarter hadn't expired.
|
What is FIBA's protocol for a wrong basket?
|
Reset to ~5.6 seconds, blue ball?
|
16.2.2
If a player accidentally scores a field goal in his team’s basket, the goal counts 2 points and shall be recorded as having been scored by the captain of the opposing team on the playing court. |
Before The Buzzer ???
Backcourt violation?
|
Quote:
Had this happen in a BV game two seasons ago ('12-13) after a missed FT. B1 got the rebound and - realizing he was wide open - scored into the wrong basket. Happily my partner and I shut it down before things got completely out of hand, i.e., before Team A completed the throw-in. I even remembered to tell the scorer the goal wasn't credited to anyone on Team A! :D |
If the player in white heaves it toward the wrong basket and the buzzer goes off while the ball is in the air does it count if it goes in?
|
Quote:
I know you know the answer to this. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I don't care what the book says to do after the goal is scored in the wrong basket. Stop play, award the goal properly at the table, and have an endline throw-in to the correct team. That's going to clean up all the extra confusion.
|
Quote:
|
Archives ???
Quote:
This (below) is as close as I can find: A SPECIFIC UNSPORTING ACT 10.1.8 SITUATION: Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A’s basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situation if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: (a) charge Team A with an unsporting technical foul; (b) assess a delay-of-game warning for interfering with the ball after a goal; (c) cancel the field goal; (d) cancel any common foul(s) committed and any non-flagrant foul against A2 in the act of shooting; and (e) put “consumed” time back on the clock. COMMENT: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be followed except no unsporting team technical foul would be charged. A team technical would be assessed if the team had received a previous delay warning. This procedure shall not be used in any other throw-in situation in which an official administers the throw-in and a mistake allows the wrong team to inbound the ball. (4-47-3; 7-6-6; 10-1-5d) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am. |