The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 09:12am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.

#2) There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds by the NFHS, so I'm not sure what you are asking.

2a) OOB has nothing to do with this play, only whether or not we have an illegal dribble depending on factors that are unknown in your scenario.

2b) Legal
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jun 06, 2014 at 09:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.
Even in 1c. after the made basket?!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 10:45am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountTheBasket View Post
Even in 1c. after the made basket?!
Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.
what he said. it's an OOB violation when the ball is touched.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Why would that make a difference? Once he touches the ball, it's dead b/c of the OOB violation.
Let's add 1d) for what I think CountTheBasket was thinking...

1d) A1's attempt goes in. B1 jumps from out of bounds and grabs the ball as it comes through the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 12:33pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
Let's add 1d) for what I think CountTheBasket was thinking...

1d) A1's attempt goes in. B1 jumps from out of bounds and grabs the ball as it comes through the basket.
Play on. Player just grabbed a dead ball and will proceed with the throw-in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountTheBasket View Post
Even in 1c. after the made basket?!
I think you are thinking of the exception for a foul not making the ball dead when it's during a try. There's no exception for an OOB violation (there is for a "swinging elbows" violation).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
#1) Assuming you mean B1 touches the ball without ever coming back inbounds, it would be an immediate OOB violation when B1 touches the ball in all of those scenarios.

#2) There is no requirement to have both feet inbounds by the NFHS, so I'm not sure what you are asking.

2a) OOB has nothing to do with this play, only whether or not we have an illegal dribble depending on factors that are unknown in your scenario.

2b) Legal
Wouldn't (2b) be illegal? It reads as if player control never ends in the scenario. So if the player steps out of bounds while there's player control, isn't it an OOB violation even if he's not actually touching the ball when he's out?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 10:13pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsavitzky View Post
Wouldn't (2b) be illegal? It reads as if player control never ends in the scenario. So if the player steps out of bounds while there's player control, isn't it an OOB violation even if he's not actually touching the ball when he's out?
It's an interrupted dribble. No player control, player can go out of bounds by accident and come back in as long as he's not gaining an advantage (going around a screen, etc.). He can also continue his dribble, provided he establishes location in-bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
It's an interrupted dribble. No player control, player can go out of bounds by accident and come back in as long as he's not gaining an advantage (going around a screen, etc.). He can also continue his dribble, provided he establishes location in-bounds.
If you consider it an interrupted dribble. But he specifically said "not ending his dribble" in the original scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 06, 2014, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsavitzky View Post
If you consider it an interrupted dribble. But he specifically said "not ending his dribble" in the original scenario.
Terminology is important.
An interrupted dribble hasn't ended. Allowing the ball to come to rest in one hand, touching it simultaneously with two hands, or losing control because of a touch by an opposing player all end a dribble.
The author wrote what he did to distinguish between the player ending his dribble and then releasing ball into the court before falling out and the player simply pushing or batting the ball with one hand then stepping out.
Whether there is player control or not is a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2014, 03:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
under the 1st scenario, would B1 be called a goaltending should he jumped from out of bounds to interrupt the ball when it's going downwards, or will it still be counted as out of bound A ball?

so in both NFHS & NBA, can i say that if the player established possession of the ball while trying to save it throws the ball back in, it shall be considered a pass thus the player may not be the 1st to touch the ball even if he's already inbound?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2014, 04:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
under the 1st scenario, would B1 be called a goaltending should he jumped from out of bounds to interrupt the ball when it's going downwards, or will it still be counted as out of bound A ball?

so in both NFHS & NBA, can i say that if the player established possession of the ball while trying to save it throws the ball back in, it shall be considered a pass thus the player may not be the 1st to touch the ball even if he's already inbound?
1. There is no rule which covers a player committing simultaneous violations. There is an officiating principle to penalize the more severe of the infringements. So if this ever happened, I would penalize the goaltending. However, since the endline is four feet behind the plane of the backboard, I doubt that such will occur. I can envision an otherwise legally blocked shot with a shooter in the corner and a defender jumping from out of bounds.

2. There is no rule preventing a player from retrieving his own errant pass at the NCAA and NFHS levels. It would simply be a dribble if allowed to strike the floor before the catch. If the player had already dribbled, then this second dribble would constitute a violation. If the ball does not contact the floor and the player has moved his pivot, the ruling is an illegal dribble violation. Otherwise, the action described is perfectly legal. Don't get caught in the "self pass" myth!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 07, 2014, 04:25am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
under the 1st scenario, would B1 be called a goaltending should he jumped from out of bounds to interrupt the ball when it's going downwards, or will it still be counted as out of bound A ball?

so in both NFHS & NBA, can i say that if the player established possession of the ball while trying to save it throws the ball back in, it shall be considered a pass thus the player may not be the 1st to touch the ball even if he's already inbound?
If a player is pulling off your first scenario, he should be considering representing his country in the long jump. To answer your scenario, a player would be committing two violations at the same time...pick the more severe of the two, award the basket and continue otherwise.

As to your second scenario, you are mixing up an NBA interpretation with the other rule sets. Just to be clear, the interpretation I gave out earlier is SOLELY UNDER NBA RULES (capitalization and bolding to emphasize this point).

Under NFHS/NCAA rules, the act of gaining possession and throwing it back in should be considered the start of a dribble...and penalize or allow as appropriate. It should also be pointed out that one can not, by definition by the ball to oneself.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player touches ball to floor while ball is in both hands mwave Basketball 6 Fri Dec 14, 2012 06:28am
ball touches clothing bbcowboy Basketball 1 Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:56pm
Ball touches referee RefLarry Basketball 9 Wed Oct 19, 2005 11:11am
Ball touches official som44 Basketball 7 Tue Nov 02, 2004 03:44am
Player touches out of bounds William C Football 16 Tue Oct 26, 2004 03:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1