The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 01, 2014, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Despite what the book says, the NFHS has reiterated that until player control has been established in the frontcourt following a throw-in, there cannot be a backcourt violation.

Example from the 2011-2012 Interpretations...

A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team control, throw-in, IW Rich Basketball 74 Sun Dec 01, 2013 03:27pm
Team Control on Throw In Bishopcolle Basketball 7 Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm
Team Control Durign a Throw-in Rob1968 Basketball 16 Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:18am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1