View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 01, 2014, 08:57pm
bballref3966 bballref3966 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 401
Despite what the book says, the NFHS has reiterated that until player control has been established in the frontcourt following a throw-in, there cannot be a backcourt violation.

Example from the 2011-2012 Interpretations...

A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2s hand and goes into Team As backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team As backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team As frontcourt before the ball went into Team As backcourt.
Reply With Quote