![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Being called for a kick-ball on a throw-in is as much a violation as catching a jump ball or catching a throw-in pass while OOB. None of them is a legal touch of the ball. If any of them was they wouldn't be listed as violations.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the ball is just caught with both hands (cleanly), then I would not run it. I've never seen the latter. |
|
|||
|
The first touch would be legal and therefore not apply to the question at hand. Catching the ball with 2 hands would fall in the this category.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Agreed -- just was trying to be sure we were all discussing the same play (esp. since I've never seen anyone even go for the "initial" touch with two hands)
|
|
|||
|
It happened once in a varsity game but I had it a few times in MS games (rec or otherwise), too. The scenario was always both jumpers missed the tap and before the ball hit the floor - obviously - one of the jumpers panicked and caught the ball. Then there would be that pregnant pause of "What the heck do we do now?" before the jumper dropped the ball as though it was a hand grenade.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
There were a few case plays/interps issued when the AP arrow rule was altered so that a team retained the arrow if the opponent kicked the ball on the initial touch of the throw-in pass.
One of the plays dealt with a player catching/touching the throw-in pass while standing on a boundary line. It said the touching was legal and the arrow switched, but it was an OOB violation and the opponent's ball at that new location. From the above play, one can deduce that the NFHS ruling is that touching the ball with the hands (not a closed fist) is a legal action in itself. There may be other restrictions such as OOB, jump ball parameters, BI/GT, etc. which cause the touch to be a violation, but that doesn't mean that the touch isn't proper. It may be parsing in a legal or exercise in mental logic, but that's the rationale for why such a touch would be timed. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the touch is a violation, the clock, if running, stops. If it isn't running, it doesn't start. I seem to remember a spirited discussion with Jurassic Referee about this years ago.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know I've had it a few times over the years.And BNR is correct..
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Clock does not start | CoachJW | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 01, 2009 01:47pm |
| When to Start the clock | MIRef | Football | 4 | Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:37pm |
| When does the clock start? (NF) | BktBallRef | Football | 93 | Fri Sep 30, 2005 02:52pm |
| Start the Clock | Topshelf | Football | 2 | Wed Jul 13, 2005 02:46pm |
| Start clock or not??? | Illini_Ref | Football | 14 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 02:42pm |