The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 04:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The offensive player lands with both feet. Assuming that means he had adequate space to land, sounds like a PC to me.
How much space there is to land is of no consequence under the rules. If the player with the ball gets a foot on the court prior to any contact occurring, then the defender cannot be penalized for anything he did while the offensive player was airborne. That part of the action is now meaningless to the ensuing collision.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 06:48am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Close visualization of the play you're talking about:



And the discussion thread: Kansas v Texas: Close Block/Charge Play

Note: Adams initially said this was a block...then retracted that statement and said it was a charge
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
How much space there is to land is of no consequence under the rules. If the player with the ball gets a foot on the court prior to any contact occurring, then the defender cannot be penalized for anything he did while the offensive player was airborne. That part of the action is now meaningless to the ensuing collision.

Thank you lads.

MTD, Sr.


P.S. By the way, I think that is Joe DeRosa in the picture at the start of the video.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Fri Apr 11, 2014 at 06:49am. Reason: Added Post Script.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 08:31am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
How much space there is to land is of no consequence under the rules. If the player with the ball gets a foot on the court prior to any contact occurring, then the defender cannot be penalized for anything he did while the offensive player was airborne. That part of the action is now meaningless to the ensuing collision.
B1 takes a spot on the court which would have been the landing spot for airborne A1. A1 lands with feet spread wide straddling the feet of B1, at the same time leaning backward in at attempt to avoid the contact but is unable to do so. This is a foul on B1.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
B1 takes a spot on the court which would have been the landing spot for airborne A1. A1 lands with feet spread wide straddling the feet of B1, at the same time leaning backward in at attempt to avoid the contact but is unable to do so. This is a foul on B1.
The difference is, A1 was already airborne before B1 took his/her spot.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 10:27am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
The difference is, A1 was already airborne before B1 took his/her spot.
According to Nevada, once A1's feet touch the floor, it doesn't matter if B1 got into the spot before A1 went airborne.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 11:03am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
According to Nevada, once A1's feet touch the floor, it doesn't matter if B1 got into the spot before A1 went airborne.

And Nevada is correct. A player who gains control of the ball while airborne must expect to be guarding immediately upon returning top the court. That has been the NFHS and NCAA Rules committees' position when the NBCUSC adopted the guarding rule over 60 years ago which is still the rule today.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 11:11am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
And Nevada is correct. A player who gains control of the ball while airborne must expect to be guarding immediately upon returning top the court. That has been the NFHS and NCAA Rules committees' position when the NBCUSC adopted the guarding rule over 60 years ago which is still the rule today.

MTD, Sr.
The point of contention is this. Nevada is saying it is impossible for the foul to be on the defense so long as the offensive player manages to touch the court with even one foot before contact. I disagree.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The point of contention is this. Nevada is saying it is impossible for the foul to be on the defense so long as the offensive player manages to touch the court with even one foot before contact. I disagree.
A agree with Nevada. The rule doesn't say where and how the foot/feet need to land, just that they do so. That straddling example above is still a charge. A1's landing spot is where they land, even if it is awkward. Once A1 is on the floor and there has been no contact, stationary B1's position is, by rule, legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 09:09pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The point of contention is this. Nevada is saying it is impossible for the foul to be on the defense so long as the offensive player manages to touch the court with even one foot before contact. I disagree.

Just Another Ref:

With all due respect you can disagree all you want but every time you call this a block you will be wrong each and every time. As I stated in my post which you quoted, that for over sixty years the Rules Committees position has been: (a) A player who gains control of the ball must expect to be guarded from the moment he/she gains control of the ball; and (b) A player who does not have control of the ball has a reasonable expectation to not be guarded.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 11:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The point of contention is this. Nevada is saying it is impossible for the foul to be on the defense so long as the offensive player manages to touch the court with even one foot before contact. I disagree.
Nope, that's not what I wrote. Try reading my post again.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
According to Nevada, once A1's feet touch the floor, it doesn't matter if B1 got into the spot before A1 went airborne.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding the scenario/play or maybe I didn't explain myself well. If B1 obtained his position after A1 is airborne, and airborne A1 crashes into B1, we have a block. If A1 lands first, then crashes into B1, we have a PC foul (possibly).

4-23
ART. 4

Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent *without the ball:

a. No time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position.

b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.

ART. 5

Guarding a moving opponent without the ball:

a. Time and distance are factors required to obtain an initial legal position.

b. The guard must give the opponent the time and/or distance to avoid contact.

c. The distance need not be more than two strides.

d. If the opponent is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 03:10pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Maybe I'm misunderstanding the scenario/play or maybe I didn't explain myself well. If B1 obtained his position after A1 is airborne, and airborne A1 crashes into B1, we have a block. If A1 lands first, then crashes into B1, we have a PC foul (possibly).

4-23
ART. 4

Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent *without the ball:

a. No time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position.

b. If the opponent with the ball is airborne, the guard must have obtained legal position before the opponent left the floor.
This is all in response to Nevadaref's statement that since A1 landed prior to contact, it doesn't matter when B1 gained position with regard to A1 going airborne.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 11, 2014, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
This is all in response to Nevadaref's statement that since A1 landed prior to contact, it doesn't matter when B1 gained position with regard to A1 going airborne.
Ok ... my misunderstanding.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Decide - Block, Charge or Travel (Clip) xyrph Basketball 48 Sun Dec 22, 2013 07:51am
Minnesota/Wisconsin Block/charge and Out of bounds travel paulsonj72 Basketball 27 Sat Feb 16, 2013 01:26pm
Block, Charge or No Call Indianaref Basketball 57 Thu May 13, 2010 03:30pm
Block, Charge or No call cingram Basketball 7 Wed Jun 02, 2004 08:09am
Block/Charge or Travel BMA Basketball 11 Wed Aug 15, 2001 09:16am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1