The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 28, 2014, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
At 15:48 of the 2nd half, Iowa #15 shoots his last FT.

While the ball is in the air, Tenn #5's elbow hits Iowa #34 in the neck and moves up under the chin. Then the ball passes through the net for a scored FT.

The crew goes to the monitor. They penalize Tenn #5 with a Contact Deadball Technical Foul. A different Iowa player shot the 2 FTs. Iowa was given back the ball at the division line opposite the benches.

Unfortunately, I believe the crew adjudicated this incorrectly.

Tenn #5 should have been penalized with a F1 (since the ball was live during the shot FT). Iowa #34 should have shot the 2 FTs. The ball should have been inbounded by Iowa at the end line underneath the basket.

It'll be interesting to see if the crew advances to the Sweet 16 round next week despite this error.
(3) Iowa State vs. (7) Connecticut - Verne Harris, Tony Padilla, Mike Reed
Two of them did advance!
Either the NCAA staff in charge of tournament officials didn't recognize this as an incorrect rule application or felt that it wasn't enough to prevent them from moving forward versus the performances of other officials/crews.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1