The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 22, 2014, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
A.R. 108. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a breakaway layup. Near A’s free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his dribble. A1 throws the ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.

RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is located in A1’s front court, which A1 is entitled to use. (Rule 9-13.1 and 5-1.1 and .6)
In the video posted the player doesn't remain airborne. He catches the "rebound" and lands on the floor before attempting a shot.

I think it's an illegal dribble and a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 22, 2014, 11:50pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
In the video posted the player doesn't remain airborne. He catches the "rebound" and lands on the floor before attempting a shot.

I think it's an illegal dribble and a violation.
I saw the play. The play is still legal...that throw against the backboard is a try.

*added*
You should look at the basketball rules fundamentals:

S. A ball that touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that, when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute a part of the dribble.

The play in question would only be a violation if he was throwing the ball off his opponent's backboard.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Sun Feb 23, 2014 at 01:50am. Reason: added basketball rules fundamental
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 12:01am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
that throw against the backboard is a try
Per NFHS 4-41-2, "A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal."

That is not a try, that is an intentional self pass. Thus, travelling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 12:07am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Per NFHS 4-41-2, "A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal."

That is not a try, that is an intentional self pass. Thus, travelling.
There's no such thing as a self pass under NFHS/NCAA rules.

Sure you could try and show you've read the rule book and not judge that a try...and you'll be in the small minority.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
I saw the play. The play is still legal...that throw against the backboard is a try.

*added*
You should look at the basketball rules fundamentals:

S. A ball that touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that, when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute a part of the dribble.

The play in question would only be a violation if he was throwing the ball off his opponent's backboard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Per NFHS 4-41-2, "A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal."

That is not a try, that is an intentional self pass. Thus, travelling.
Well now I'm more confused.

So it's not a dribble.

And in my judgement, it's not a try.

What the hell is it? Can the player dribble again?

I'm fine with the interpretation that it's a legal play, I'm just trying to fully understand why.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 10:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
Well now I'm more confused.

So it's not a dribble.

And in my judgement, it's not a try.

What the hell is it? Can the player dribble again?

I'm fine with the interpretation that it's a legal play, I'm just trying to fully understand why.
Because they don't want to void that great dunk where the athletic stud uses the backboard to look even more awesome.

Now, Adams seems to be splitting hairs and saying the violation should be called if the player lands after catching it rather than going straight to the dunk.

Frankly, the same rules apply, and if one is a violation, there's no rule justification for differentiating between the plays.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Well it's clearly not a shot, I think we would all agree with that.

And I'm sure if he did this same thing and the ball had contacted the rim, we would NOT reset the shot clock.

And it's not a pass, since a pass by rule is to another player.

So the part of the rule that I think is important is "In order for a pass to be completed, the ball shall touch another player." (4-24 NCAA)

To me this is the same as Player A1 throwing a ball toward Player A2. Realizing that B2 is about to steal it he hesitates and lofts it. A1 then proceeds to catch the ball himself after taking a number of steps. The ball never touches the ground.

So I'm just visualizing the play without the ball striking the backboard.

What would your ruling be in my situation? And if you rule it differently then the play posted, why?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 11:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
Well it's clearly not a shot, I think we would all agree with that.

And I'm sure if he did this same thing and the ball had contacted the rim, we would NOT reset the shot clock.

And it's not a pass, since a pass by rule is to another player.

So the part of the rule that I think is important is "In order for a pass to be completed, the ball shall touch another player." (4-24 NCAA)

To me this is the same as Player A1 throwing a ball toward Player A2. Realizing that B2 is about to steal it he hesitates and lofts it. A1 then proceeds to catch the ball himself after taking a number of steps. The ball never touches the ground.

So I'm just visualizing the play without the ball striking the backboard.

What would your ruling be in my situation? And if you rule it differently then the play posted, why?
You're right, but all levels have made it clear they want it legal to throw the ball off of the backboard to dunk. The reasoning they give is that it's legal to throw it off of your backboard, but there's no logical distinction between a player dunking it and just catching it and landing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 12:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Blue Back Speller ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Where is the "self pass" prohibited in the rules? For that matter, where is it defined?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toren View Post
And it's not a pass, since a pass by rule is to another player. "In order for a pass to be completed, the ball shall touch another player." (4-24 NCAA).
NFHS 4-31: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

From Noah Webster (who used to live right down the street from me):

1) In football, hockey, and other team sports, a transfer of the ball, puck, etc., to another player of one's own team, usually at some distance. In American football, the pass is through the air by an act of throwing the ball.

2) To emit or discharge from a bodily part and especially the bowels (which has a lot to do with the rule references, explanation, and validation, behind this caseplay).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 23, 2014 at 12:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 10:20am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Per NFHS 4-41-2, "A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal."

That is not a try, that is an intentional self pass. Thus, travelling.
Where is the "self pass" prohibited in the rules?

For that matter, where is it defined?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 01:51pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Where is the "self pass" prohibited in the rules?

For that matter, where is it defined?
It's a colloquial term, don't get hung up on it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Same play?

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 03:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Caseplay Trumps Written Rules ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
Same play?
NFHS. Case play? Legal. Rules, as presently written, assuming this is not a try? Travel.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 05:09pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
It's a colloquial term, don't get hung up on it.
I'm not hung up on it, but I will question it anytime anyone uses the term as the reason (in and of itself) something should be called a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 24, 2014, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 35
Team Control?

There's been debate on whether or not it is considered a try. Would you consider team control to have ended when he released it?

Statistically, if the defense had gotten that off the board, would it be a rebound or a steal if you were keeping the book?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backboard PP Basketball 7 Fri Feb 21, 2014 09:46am
Backboard ILMalti Basketball 1 Sat Mar 14, 2009 12:50pm
Over the backboard yukonmiller Basketball 1 Mon Jan 31, 2005 06:23pm
over the backboard rcwilco Basketball 13 Mon Feb 09, 2004 04:08am
top of backboard gduck Basketball 8 Mon Mar 04, 2002 07:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1