![]() |
|
|
|||
No One Saw The Ball Go In
Lob pass from 3 point area. Pass is up near the rim. Net moves. Kid for the defense grabs it and then takes it out for a throw-in. That team then goes down and scores a quick bucket.
The team that threw the lob is yelling for 3 points. Clock guy puts up 3. No official gives any signal that the ball went in. After the the "quick bucket" the coach of the team that was on D when the lob was thrown says "why did no one give a 3 signal?" Officials get together and determine that none of them saw it go in. They ask the official scorekeeper and she says she thinks it went in. So they keep the 3 up there. Let's say she said she didn't see it go in. Now you have the 3 officials and the official scorekeeper (and the clock guy) say they didn't see it go in. Correctable error. Caught it in time, correct? So you erase the 3 but keep the 2 for the other team and now it's possession to the team that had the 3 incorrectly awarded, correct? |
|
|||
If no one saw it go in AND the scorekeeper isn't sure then it should not be 3 points. this begs the question that when the kid took the ball for an inbounds as if the basket was made why didn't any of the officials whistle a violation here
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
That phrase doesn't mean what you think it means. Look it up and learn something today.
|
|
|||
Nevada makes a pedantic point with accuracy. But laying aside his point, it does raise in my mind the question of why nobody called traveling or out of bounds when a defensive player grabbed the ball out of the air and walked out of bounds with it.
|
|
|||
Lead had a battle in his lap. The two outside , for whatever reason, didn't see the ball go in. The kid who grabbed the ball thought it did so he took it out. All of the officials assumed the ball went in and the other two saw it. So no travel call.
|
|
|||
Quote:
As to the situation at hand, I do not see this as a CE. Based on the information from the table (and reactions of the players) it seems that a goal has been scored but there is no knowledge of from where. In this case only 2 points should be awarded, which should be clarified by the R asap but could happen anytime before the game ends since it is a scoring error. All other action still stands so I woud not erase the other teams basket nor cancel any fouls etc. that may have occured. |
|
|||
Quote:
Furthermore, my comment in response to deecee was meant to contain humor as well as to possibly help him learn a language fact. Clearly, you missed the reference to The Princess Bride. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=G2y8Sx4B2Sk Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Feb 19, 2014 at 07:57am. |
|
|||
Quote:
And yes, I did miss the Princess Bride reference. Have seen the movie (it was funny from what I remember). Now, can't we all just get along and get back to basketball. Last edited by Rich1; Thu Feb 20, 2014 at 11:30pm. |
|
|||
By the book you are correct. However in every day usage this is how it is used. It may be wrong "by the strict definition" but hey I don't think there's a hair out there you don't like to split.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Perhaps officials shouldn't call traveling or backcourt violations correctly because so many coaches, players, and fans have a misunderstanding of these rules. Let's just acquiesce and call it how they think it should be. ![]() Here's another phrase for you "not suffer fools gladly." |
|
|||
This case has some relevant information.
2.10.1 SITUATION L: A1 jumps and releases a try for goal apparently from behind the three-point line. The try is successful. The covering official does not indicate a three-point try and does not signal three points after the goal. The Team A coach rushes to the table and requests a 60-second time-out to discuss a correctable error. It is determined neither official clearly observed A1’s location before he/she jumped to try. RULING: No change can be made and two points are properly scored. The 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A. (5-8-4) Based upon the language of the case play, I'd say that if it's known with certainty that the thrower was behind the three point line then three points can be awarded. This is a correctable error and it was caught in time however there isn't a lot of concrete information to go on. None of the officials observed the ball go in and the scorer only "thinks" it went in. That's probably enough to go on in awarding the score since it seems the teams also reacted as if it went in but it still seems a little dicey to me. If nobody from the table saw it either, we're on some shaky ground at that point. I'm not sure we can award points for something none of the officials saw.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
||||
Quote:
This would be a scorer's error since they were counting points without input from the officials.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the try or thrown ball was from beyond the arc and the officials have knowledge of that fact, then one of them should have signaled for 3pts when the ball went in. The complication is the fact that none of the officials observed the ball enter the basket. The failure of an official to properly signal and award three points would be a CE and it is still within the proper timeframe to handle. If none of the officials observed from where the ball was thrown, then the proper amount of points to award is only two and this means that the scorer has made an error by awarding the extra point on his own without the proper signal from the game officials. This is a bookkeeping error and can be corrected at any point under the jurisdiction of the officials ends. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ball carrier fumbles the ball forward into and out of the other teams' end zone? | PackersFTW | Football | 1 | Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:29am |
Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball...: The Cover | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:12am |
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games | drinkeii | Basketball | 90 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am |
Legally putting ball in play, dead ball violations | BJ Moose | Baseball | 20 | Tue Aug 26, 2003 10:09am |