The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NOT.

The player made a smart, legal play. There will always be officials who see this as something that should be penalized but by rule, it's nothing.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
I believe these situations are covered by 7.1.1 B, C, and D ('11-'12 Casebook)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 03:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
I believe these situations are covered by 7.1.1 B, C, and D ('11-'12 Casebook)
7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the
floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns
inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not
leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and
momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back
onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and
did not have control of the ball when he/she did.

7.1.1 SITUATION C: A1 blocks a pass near the sideline and the ball goes into
A1’s front court. A1’s momentum carries him/her out of bounds. He/she immediately
returns inbounds, secures control of the ball, dribbles, shoots, and scores.
RULING: Legal. (4-35-1a; 7-1-2; 9-3)

7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation. (4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 03:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Does This Apply Here ???

9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary,
even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhc2010 View Post
He takes one dribble in bounds, sees that he is headed out of bounds, one-handed passes the ball up the court, comes back on bounds, and continues dribbling.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 04:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary,
even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
Sure, unless you deem it an interrupted dribble, during which there is no player control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 04:10pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Dribble Interuptus ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Sure, unless you deem it an interrupted dribble, during which there is no player control.
4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting
off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no
player control during an interrupted dribble.

Doesn't sound like an interrupted dribble to me ("one hand passes the ball up the court").

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhc2010 View Post
He takes one dribble in bounds, sees that he is headed out of bounds, one-handed passes the ball up the court, comes back on bounds, and continues dribbling.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 04:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-15-5: An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting
off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no
player control during an interrupted dribble.

Doesn't sound like an interrupted dribble to me ("one hand passes the ball up the court").
Where does it say the ID can't be intentional?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 14, 2014, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
As I said...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
The player made a smart, legal play. There will always be officials who see this as something that should be penalized but by rule, it's nothing.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sideline Warning/Sideline Interference Brandon Kincer Football 16 Sat May 23, 2009 09:33am
Player runs down sideline out of bounds jsblanton Basketball 2 Sat Jan 19, 2008 02:26pm
free throw violation of outside player esslingerdav Basketball 7 Thu Feb 01, 2007 06:40pm
Player outside of sideline when ball served. GregAlan Volleyball 6 Mon May 17, 2004 05:39pm
player calls her own violation Nevadaref Basketball 18 Thu Feb 06, 2003 10:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1