The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 02, 2014, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Wow, thanks for all the replies.

With the gather, does that occur when two hands are placed onto the ball or the ball is cradled with one hand? When teaching my kids the jump stop so they can then pivot, just make sure they are in the air while gathering? And to clarify, they can leave one or both feet after situation 2 or 3 but cant come down with the foot/feet until they pass or shoot?


With the fifth graders I have it seems the two rules that are possibly misunderstood by a few of the refs are when my kids are still sliding their feet and seem to obtain legal guarding position and take contact in the chest while the ballhandler is dribbling, but has not left his feet for a shot. Another violation we got called for two or three times was double dribble after my player mishandled a pass and the ball hit the ground, then he picked it up and started dribbling. Maybe I am the one misunderstanding those rules though?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 02, 2014, 03:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark0215 View Post
Wow, thanks for all the replies.

With the gather, does that occur when two hands are placed onto the ball or the ball is cradled with one hand? When teaching my kids the jump stop so they can then pivot, just make sure they are in the air while gathering? And to clarify, they can leave one or both feet after situation 2 or 3 but cant come down with the foot/feet until they pass or shoot?


With the fifth graders I have it seems the two rules that are possibly misunderstood by a few of the refs are when my kids are still sliding their feet and seem to obtain legal guarding position and take contact in the chest while the ballhandler is dribbling, but has not left his feet for a shot. Another violation we got called for two or three times was double dribble after my player mishandled a pass and the ball hit the ground, then he picked it up and started dribbling. Maybe I am the one misunderstanding those rules though?
1. The gather is when the player begins holding the ball. Frankly, this is a judgment call. Normally, it's two hands, but that doesn't mean it can't be done with one.

2. It's fifth graders. You're going to get some officials who don't completely understand all the rules, and you're going to get players who aren't properly executing what you've taught them. Roll with it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 02, 2014, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark0215 View Post
Wow, thanks for all the replies.
With the gather, does that occur when two hands are placed onto the ball or the ball is cradled with one hand? When teaching my kids the jump stop so they can then pivot, just make sure they are in the air while gathering? And to clarify, they can leave one or both feet after situation 2 or 3 but cant come down with the foot/feet until they pass or shoot?
The end of the dribble is defined by catching the ball with one or both hands. The establishment of the pivot foot is defined by the same thing...when the ball is caught. At the moment where another dribble would be ruled a carry or illegal dribble is the time at which the ball is caught for the purpose of establishing the pivot foot. Some officials will try to insert some magical unnamed status between catching the ball to end the dribble and catching the ball to establish the pivot but there really isn't anything there (unless they've fumbled/muffed the ball).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark0215 View Post
With the fifth graders I have it seems the two rules that are possibly misunderstood by a few of the refs are when my kids are still sliding their feet and seem to obtain legal guarding position and take contact in the chest while the ballhandler is dribbling, but has not left his feet for a shot.
You are probably right. I see a lot of officials penalize legal defenders just becasue they're moving. Too many believe a defender must be "set" to take a charge. And I'm not going by observation, I'm going by the explanations the officials have given in response to being asked about the call (not by me, just observing their responses to others).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark0215 View Post
Another violation we got called for two or three times was double dribble after my player mishandled a pass and the ball hit the ground, then he picked it up and started dribbling. Maybe I am the one misunderstanding those rules though?
Could be either way. Depends on whether the official feels the first contact was a bat to the ground or an inadvertent drop.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFL rules questions tmagan Football 9 Thu Oct 04, 2012 06:10pm
Rules questions... scooter2 Basketball 10 Sun Jan 10, 2010 07:17pm
2 rules questions GTJT622 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:39pm
rules questions lakers8 Basketball 6 Thu Dec 18, 2008 04:42pm
rules questions nonothingcoach Softball 7 Mon Jun 14, 2004 06:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1