The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:33am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Looks like the dribbler is coming from the C's side of the court, and seeing as how it's the primary defender who's involved in the block/charge, then it would be the C's call. I mean, if the dribbler got around the primary defender and a secondary defender was involved in the block/charge, then the L should make the call.

Not that the L can't make a call, but I see no problem with the L deferring to the C here.
Depends on the definition of "secondary defender". On the Men's side, all outnumbered defensive players on a fast break are secondary defenders. I don't know how NCAA-W handle it.

That's why I'm asking #3.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:38am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
The L seems to still be getting to the end line. Could he feel he doesn't have a good enough look?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Depends on the definition of "secondary defender". On the Men's side, all outnumbered defensive players on a fast break are secondary defenders. I don't know how NCAA-W handle it.
We use the same definition. A double whistle would have been ideal here, but as the drive is from Cs primary it's his call.
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 11:50am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
This is a PC. At one of my camps last year the clinicians covered #2 and talked about how a lot of officials think (wrongly) that contact for a PC has to be center torso. They showed a bunch of clips similar to this one and the general consensus was practically all of them should have been PC but were called blocks. I also agree a double whistle would have been good here but it is C's primary.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 12:38pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWMOzebra View Post
We use the same definition. A double whistle would have been ideal here, but as the drive is from Cs primary it's his call.

If you consider this a secondary defender, than in NCAA-M, the L gets first crack.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Depends on the definition of "secondary defender". On the Men's side, all outnumbered defensive players on a fast break are secondary defenders. I don't know how NCAA-W handle it.

That's why I'm asking #3.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SWMOzebra View Post
We use the same definition. A double whistle would have been ideal here, but as the drive is from Cs primary it's his call.
Assuming BNR's quote is correct, then the NCAAW is different.

Art. 2. In a fast-break situation, any defensive player(s) initially shall be a
secondary defender.

Either way, though, I think this is primarily for the RA rule and not necessarily for the "whose call is it?" discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 12:56pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Assuming BNR's quote is correct, then the NCAAW is different.

Art. 2. In a fast-break situation, any defensive player(s) initially shall be a
secondary defender.

Either way, though, I think this is primarily for the RA rule and not necessarily for the "whose call is it?" discussion.

You are correct, this definition is used to decide PC/block plays in regards to the RA on fast breaks. However, the favored philosophy on the men's side is that L is primary on all such plays in the paint, going to the basket involving secondary defenders regardless as to where the play originated or whether or not the RA is involved.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:01pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
The men's version of the rule:


Art. 4. In an outnumbering fast-break situation, any defensive player(s) initially
shall be a secondary defender.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
From the camera's angle, at full speed, the contact appears to be on the torso, of the defender. At slow motion, the contact appears to be on the lower portion of the defender's body, and the head and shoulders of the ballhandler appear to be past the front of the defender's torso.
The angle from the calling official's position could easily coincide with that statement, and the block call could be justified.
There also seems to be an apreciable amount of embellishment of the result of the contact, by the defender, i.e. an attempted "flop".
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
and the head and shoulders of the ballhandler appear to be past the front of the defender's torso.
so what?

Just because there's "greater responsibility" on the defense doesn't mean it can't (or shouldn't) be a charge. The defense still didn't move.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 06:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
From the camera's angle, at full speed, the contact appears to be on the torso, of the defender. At slow motion, the contact appears to be on the lower portion of the defender's body, and the head and shoulders of the ballhandler appear to be past the front of the defender's torso.
The angle from the calling official's position could easily coincide with that statement, and the block call could be justified.
There also seems to be an apreciable amount of embellishment of the result of the contact, by the defender, i.e. an attempted "flop".
Head and shoulders is a rule of thumb, it's not a hard/fast rule to define a block. It works well when both players are moving, but even then isn't definitive.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 12:43pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Depends on the definition of "secondary defender". On the Men's side, all outnumbered defensive players on a fast break are secondary defenders. I don't know how NCAA-W handle it.

That's why I'm asking #3.

I don't think this is an odd numbered fast break situation. Looks like 2 on 2 to me. Therefore, I am not sure I would classify the defender as a secondary defender. I think the L did a poor job of getting back to the end line and is out of position/straight lined and didn't have a good look. It should be a PC foul.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
i don't think this is an odd numbered fast break situation. Looks like 2 on 2 to me. Therefore, i am not sure i would classify the defender as a secondary defender. i think the l did a poor job of getting back to the end line and is out of position/straight lined and didn't have a good look. It should be a pc foul.
+1
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 12:51pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by j51969 View Post
+1
Just doesn't look like he busted his hump to get there, does it?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 04:50pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,579
No way that is anything but a CHARGE!!!!The defender did everything to gain LGP and stopped after getting LGP.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Thu Jan 30, 2014 at 10:16am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/Charge video ballgame99 Basketball 27 Sat Aug 31, 2013 09:51am
OSU-MSU Video Request: Block or Charge? McMac Basketball 1 Sat Mar 16, 2013 08:43pm
Block/charge video bainsey Basketball 69 Thu Feb 14, 2013 02:23am
Video request - another block/charge Rich Basketball 46 Thu Mar 08, 2012 01:52pm
Video review question on block charge drofficial Basketball 33 Fri Oct 29, 2010 07:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1