The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2014, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Maybe I'm not understanding the OP scenario, because it sounds like Team B was really screwed up. The way I read it Team V makes a free throw in Basket V, then Team H in bounds ball under Basket V and makes a field goal in Basket V. So they really shot and made a basket in the goal they just took the ball out underneath? The same basket Team V shot their free throw at?
That's how I read it. The follow on from where you left it: having just scored a basket for V the ball belongs to H. At that point V grabbed the ball (delay of game warning) and threw the dead ball through the hoop. That one doesn't count.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2014, 09:16pm
Go Blue
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 84
A couple possessions before when V was shooting free throws, the point guard got into the lower block and was talking to his teammate across the lane like they were planning on shooting on the wrong basket. Nothing happen that time, but the free throw in the OP, they were talking like let's really do it. I was not closely listening to them, but I feel that they planned this. That is why I am asking about the T.
__________________
"Well, what part of SUDDEN DEATH didn't you understand?" Feng Balls of Fury
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 22, 2014, 10:15pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Fixing it like that makes sense, as it's fair. However, it doesn't seem to jive with the rule regarding correctable errors.

This is an official's mistake, for allowing it to happen, and therefore should fall under the correctable rules.

The one case book situation cited here doesn't fit this situation, as that refers to Team A shooting the free throw AND inbounding the ball. So where is the rule or case to make it clear that this is right?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 23, 2014, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Fixing it like that makes sense, as it's fair.
It's fair and it's the rule.

It's an error, and it's correctable, but it's not a correctable error (for one, the time frame doesn't apply).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfering with the Punt Returner Spence Football 4 Sat Sep 25, 2010 08:21am
interfering? mwb Softball 1 Sat Apr 24, 2010 09:55am
Batter Interfering with Play at Plate bwbuddy Softball 6 Wed Jun 14, 2006 03:22pm
Interfering With The Umpire nickrego Baseball 11 Mon Sep 20, 2004 01:57pm
Runner interfering with a foul ball akalsey Baseball 8 Mon Aug 16, 2004 01:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1