![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Perhaps, but highly unlikely. I doubt 3 experienced, high tier, officials would make the mistake these guys made. The situation, what they needed to be thinking about, and the rule involved are way to simple for 3 guys of the caliber we are talking about to make this particular mistake. Especially if they were asked about it by one of the coaches literally seconds before the play occurred.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I agree with Jeff’s comment regarding these officials being fired if this was a D1 game. The NCAA assignors I’ve had all have said the same thing: Everybody kicks calls. They won’t tolerate it if we kick a rule. This play involved kicking a rule. For those who have asked whether this would’ve been just as egregious if the play was at the end of any of the other three quarters: yes it would because it involved kicking a rule. The only difference is they might have been able to get themselves out of it, especially if it happened at the end of the 2nd quarter since they would’ve had a ten-minute intermission to figure things out.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
NFHS 2010-2011 Interpretations SITUATION 1: Three-tenths of a second remain on the clock in the second quarter. A1’s throw-in is “caught” by A2, released on a try, and the officials count the basket. The coaches do not protest, the officials do not confer and all participants head to their respective locker rooms. Upon returning to the court with three minutes remaining in the intermission, the opposing coach asks the officials if the basket should have counted since the ball was clearly caught and released with three-tenths of a second on the clock. The officials realize their error at this point. RULING: The goal counts; this is not a correctable-error situation as described in Rule 2-10. (2-10; 5-2-5)
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
but, again, if there is a proper protest...our State Powers will look at it and determine what should be done. (if anything) (regardless if johnny d thinks it is silly or not)
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I know (hope) everyone here would "do the right thing." |
|
|||
|
Does this interp tell us that "control" is a judgement call?
...Not a "rule" being inadvertently set aside? It is the only thing I can come up with as to why it is not a CE...or why the powers that be in Virginia would/could not hear a protest concerning the OP. Something to think about.
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
A technical foul for...?
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
||||
|
It's a hypothetical T to ask about how upset he gets about other rule issues that are actually quite common.
I had a boys game last week where we had two quarters where we were going to resume play with .9 second on the clock. One was the 4th quarter, with three free throws for the visiting team trailing by 3. We gathered to clarify, just to be sure, that the ball could be caught and shot. The coach also asked, just to make sure. The defense got the rebound anyway, so it didn't matter.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
I had one with .3 remaining and the offense ran the perfect play with the lob. The offense about 3 feet away caught and shot. I had the whistle before the ball got to the rim. If these guys deserved to be fired do I deserve a raise? Maybe not because I thought of this thread before the play began. You guys might have saved me from getting fired.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| No controversy, Just a story | HugoTafurst | Softball | 14 | Wed Jul 06, 2011 07:29am |
| Controversy in Nebraska | MWI | Basketball | 25 | Fri Mar 11, 2011 08:27pm |
| Sectional 1-0 controversy | archangel | Baseball | 26 | Wed May 27, 2009 06:30am |
| Controversy in Florida | OverAndBack | Football | 14 | Mon Nov 03, 2008 01:53pm |