Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
I would include arms. I would include head. If I thought it was an attempt to direct the ball toward the basket, on purpose, it's a try.
|
The rule defines a tap as contacting the ball with "hand(s)." So if it hits the forarms or head, it is not a tap and the ball is dead on the horn. However, if the player strikes the ball with the HANDS held together in "volleyball bump position" that is a tap, and the goal counts even after the horn.
I've actually wondered before why I've never heard of a team trying a "volleyball shot" when down by 3 with 0.3 or less on the clock. I've especially wondered it at the HS/NCAA women levels where it is likely that there is at least one experienced volleyball player on the squad. Sure its an unlikely shot.... but with a skilled volleyballer I think the odds are better than a lob into the paint-made tap-foul combination.