![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The rule defines a tap as contacting the ball with "hand(s)." So if it hits the forarms or head, it is not a tap and the ball is dead on the horn. However, if the player strikes the ball with the HANDS held together in "volleyball bump position" that is a tap, and the goal counts even after the horn. I've actually wondered before why I've never heard of a team trying a "volleyball shot" when down by 3 with 0.3 or less on the clock. I've especially wondered it at the HS/NCAA women levels where it is likely that there is at least one experienced volleyball player on the squad. Sure its an unlikely shot.... but with a skilled volleyballer I think the odds are better than a lob into the paint-made tap-foul combination. |
|
|||
Agreed with the literal wording of the rule. the question is, did they really mean just the hand(s), or did they word it that way because that's what happens 99.9999999% of the time and what they were envisioning when they were writing it.
I get that some would be literal. I respect that opinion. I often choose the literal wording myself. In this instance, I choose not to be. As long as it's not a kick, it's a tap, to me. |
|
|||
Quote:
Maybe I can see extending it to the forearms.... but on a head ball now you will also need to also determine whether it was an intentional tap (live ball) or just rebounded off a head (dead at the horn). Opens up too many "ifs" and just too slippery a slope for me. In addition, the powers that be seem to believe that basketball is played with the hands. So for me to call it an intentional tap (or try) and keep the ball alive, I will need the player to use his/her hands. |
|
|||
Is this Padgett?
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
Wow... way to turn me into an insensitive jerk.... and you really like messing with us literal folks, huh? Here's how I call it (at least until fed publishes a clarification): the end of the arm is the hand. Why? (1) because I don't know what else to call the end of the arm, but more importantly, (2) because I have known a few folks with this disability and they did at times use the end of the arm to steady or balance objects in place of the hand. The could not grasp of course, but this play actually prohibits grasping. The "push" involved in the tap, if accomplished by the end of the arm, is done the same way with or without a hand and is legal in my book. If accomplished by the shaft of the arm, it is illegal just as it would be by a player without any disability. And this is regardless of whether the arm ends above or below the elbow. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|