View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 02:56pm
RulesGeek RulesGeek is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I would include arms. I would include head. If I thought it was an attempt to direct the ball toward the basket, on purpose, it's a try.



The rule defines a tap as contacting the ball with "hand(s)." So if it hits the forarms or head, it is not a tap and the ball is dead on the horn. However, if the player strikes the ball with the HANDS held together in "volleyball bump position" that is a tap, and the goal counts even after the horn.

I've actually wondered before why I've never heard of a team trying a "volleyball shot" when down by 3 with 0.3 or less on the clock. I've especially wondered it at the HS/NCAA women levels where it is likely that there is at least one experienced volleyball player on the squad. Sure its an unlikely shot.... but with a skilled volleyballer I think the odds are better than a lob into the paint-made tap-foul combination.
Reply With Quote