The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 17, 2014, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I've had games where one of the players had only one hand. If s/he "tapped" the ball with the stub (a)below the elbow (b) at the end of the upper arm "stub" -- would you allow it?

Wow... way to turn me into an insensitive jerk.... and you really like messing with us literal folks, huh?

Here's how I call it (at least until fed publishes a clarification): the end of the arm is the hand. Why? (1) because I don't know what else to call the end of the arm, but more importantly, (2) because I have known a few folks with this disability and they did at times use the end of the arm to steady or balance objects in place of the hand. The could not grasp of course, but this play actually prohibits grasping. The "push" involved in the tap, if accomplished by the end of the arm, is done the same way with or without a hand and is legal in my book. If accomplished by the shaft of the arm, it is illegal just as it would be by a player without any disability.

And this is regardless of whether the arm ends above or below the elbow.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1