![]() |
|
|
|||
That is simultaneous in my books.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
If they mean the exact same time then I think they are asking too much of any human being. Might as well take jump stops out of basketball.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Yes, at the same time. If one lands before the other it isn't simultaneous.
|
|
|||
If the issue the OP wished to raise was a discussion of continuous motion, then I don't believe that this will end up being so clear, following some discussion.
First the text of the rule: "If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or *stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight." My personal opinion aside, a good case can be made that the player was stepping while being fouled and completing the jump stop should be considered the usual foot or body movement in such a case. Just because it is a rare situation doesn't mean that it isn't covered by the rule. For those who support awarding FTs (or counting a goal) for a player who is fouled while gathering the ball and then completes his stepping movement prior to following through with his attempt for goal, what is the difference here with the jump stop? |
|
|||
Quote:
It looks like a PC to me though. And if you come out of this play with a travel......... No bueno for the assignors I call for. |
|
|||
Gather?
Although it's not clear, it does not appear he has gathered the ball until both feet are in the air. He has the ability to then establish a pivot foot. I would not call this a travel even if you felt the feet didn't land simultaneously.
|
|
|||
Does your state consider the play where the offensive player stops his dribble or catches the ball with both feet off the ground a jump stop? If so, they are wrong to insist that the player has to have both feet land simultaneously for the jump stop to be legal.
|
|
|||
We have been instructed, at a camp, by staffers, any jump stop in which both feet don't land simultaneously, is a traveling violation.
Last edited by OKREF; Tue Dec 31, 2013 at 11:04am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Jump stop | jref | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 13, 2009 05:09pm |
Jump stop | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 75 | Fri Jul 20, 2007 08:47am |
The Jump Stop | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 17 | Tue Jan 30, 2007 02:54pm |
Jump Stop | Pickert | Basketball | 4 | Fri Jun 02, 2006 09:29am |
jump stop ? | scat03 | Basketball | 12 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 02:38pm |