The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 10:35am
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Had LGP but lost it when A1 drove down the lane instead of directly toward the basket.
Once again not disputing just trying to understand.
Why does he lose it? He had both feet own facing opponent. Opponent didn't get head and shoulders past so it seems to me it could have been a charge.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 02:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Once again not disputing just trying to understand.
Why does he lose it? He had both feet own facing opponent. Opponent didn't get head and shoulders past so it seems to me it could have been a charge.
At the time the shooter was about the FT line extended the defender was to the side of the shooter...not in the path. The defender needed to reestablish LGP by getting two feet down while in the path again. He didn't do that. No element of his previously obtained LGP apply since he had lost it. All elements need to be obtained again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 05:33pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
At the time the shooter was about the FT line extended the defender was to the side of the shooter...not in the path. The defender needed to reestablish LGP by getting two feet down while in the path again. He didn't do that. No element of his previously obtained LGP apply since he had lost it. All elements need to be obtained again.

That makes sense. Doesn't the defender have two feet down in the path right before the contact occurs?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
That makes sense. Doesn't the defender have two feet down in the path right before the contact occurs?
Not in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 06:09pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
That makes sense. Doesn't the defender have two feet down in the path right before the contact occurs?
ART. 2

To obtain an initial legal guarding position:

a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.

b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 06:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
ART. 2

To obtain an initial legal guarding position:

a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.

b. The front of the guard's torso must be facing the opponent.
Seems to me, these were met. I'm struggling with those who claim the defender must somehow be "in the path" as defined by the direction he's heading (a concept that is not so defined in the rules).

First, I'm not convinced the "in the path" wording of 4-23-1 applies to establishing LGP as spelled out in 4-23-2. 4-23-2 says nothing about the path.

Second, "the path" is not defined, and I have a hard time defining so narrowly as to exclude the space between the dribbler and his basket just because he happens to be heading in a slightly altered direction.

Based on this interpretation, I think it may be hard to justify a closely guarded count when the dribbler is moving away from the defender.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 06:21pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Seems to me, these were met. I'm struggling with those who claim the defender must somehow be "in the path" as defined by the direction he's heading (a concept that is not so defined in the rules).

First, I'm not convinced the "in the path" wording of 4-23-1 applies to establishing LGP as spelled out in 4-23-2. 4-23-2 says nothing about the path.

Second, "the path" is not defined, and I have a hard time defining so narrowly as to exclude the space between the dribbler and his basket just because he happens to be heading in a slightly altered direction.

Based on this interpretation, I think it may be hard to justify a closely guarded count when the dribbler is moving away from the defender.

I think this case play deals with this play.

10.6.9 SITUATION:

Dribbler A1 has established a straight-line path toward a certain area of the court. Can A1 maintain this specific path?

RULING: Only to the extent that no opponent who is behind or to the side can crowd A1 out of this path. Opponents may attempt to obtain a legal guarding position in A1's path at any time. To obtain an initial legal guarding position, both feet of the guard must be on the court and the guard must be facing the dribbler prior to contact. Time and distance are not factors in obtaining an initial guarding position on an opponent with the ball. Once legal position is obtained, the guard can move to maintain position in the dribbler's path. The requirement of having two feet on the court does not apply in maintaining a legal guarding position, provided the guard maintains in-bound status. (4-23)

Doesn't the play in the video look like the description given here. It doesn't say anything about having to start out in the path.

Last edited by OKREF; Tue Dec 31, 2013 at 06:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I think this case play deals with this play.

10.6.9 SITUATION:

Dribbler A1 has established a straight-line path toward a certain area of the court. Can A1 maintain this specific path?

RULING: Only to the extent that no opponent who is behind or to the side can crowd A1 out of this path. Opponents may attempt to obtain a legal guarding position in A1's path at any time. To obtain an initial legal guarding position, both feet of the guard must be on the court and the guard must be facing the dribbler prior to contact. Time and distance are not factors in obtaining an initial guarding position on an opponent with the ball. Once legal position is obtained, the guard can move to maintain position in the dribbler's path. The requirement of having two feet on the court does not apply in maintaining a legal guarding position, provided the guard maintains in-bound status. (4-23)

Doesn't the play in the video look like the description given here. It doesn't say anything about having to start out in the path.
Good cite. That refers, more than once, to in the path being part of obtaining AND maintaining LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 09:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
That makes sense. Doesn't the defender have two feet down in the path right before the contact occurs?
No, and he is moving into A1 at the time of contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missouri-Colorado State clip JetMetFan Basketball 5 Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:49am
Another blarge - Missouri State at Creighton zm1283 Basketball 33 Fri Feb 01, 2013 09:50am
Norfolk State v. Missouri Throw-In Play (10.0 Seconds Left) APG Basketball 17 Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:39am
Norfolk State vs Missouri -- throw-in spot after timeout Lotto Basketball 10 Sat Mar 17, 2012 02:08pm
Missouri 17-14 OT victory over Iowa State John Kuntemeier Football 3 Thu Dec 02, 2004 03:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1