![]() |
|
|
|||
I posted this not because I have seen it, but it is an interesting case play.
Let's layer this play and break it down: What is the status of the ball when A-1 passes? Answer: frontcourt What is the status of the ball when B-1 deflects the ball? Answer: frontcourt What is the status of the ball when the deflected ball bounces in the frontcourt? Answer: frontcourt The ball does not have backcourt status until when? Answer: The ball must either touch the floor in the backcourt or be touched by a player or ref with backcourt status or touch the backboard in the backcourt. When does the ball have backcourt status? Answer: When it was touched by A3. If the ball doesn't have backcourt status until it is touched by A3, then A3 caused the backcourt status. If A3 allowed the ball to first touch the floor before catching the ball, then it would be B1 that caused the ball to have backcourt status. Then it would be legal for A3 to touch the ball in the backcourt because A3 did not cause the ball to have backcourt status. Essentially A3 caused the ball to have backcourt status. Therefore it is a backcourt violation on A3. If A3 had been standing out of bounds then we would deem that A3 caused the ball to go out of bounds and not B1. So, if we layer this play and look at the status of the ball and who caused the status of the ball then we must rule this play as a backcourt violation. However, I agree also that I doubt anyone would give a no-call a second thought. |
|
|||
It's not a matter of which player had FC or BC status, or whether the ball had FC or BC status, it's the status of said player and the ball.
The touch by B1 made it so the status of the ball, relative to the status of team A, was up in the air. Remember, BC or FC status is relative to that of the ball and both of the player's feet that is in control of the ball. The first touch by a member of Team A, after the touch by B1, was from A3 while she had gained BC status... hence, no violation. Sidenote: I can't stop thinking of how to word this, so I can't stop editing. Sorry. Last edited by BryanV21; Sat Dec 21, 2013 at 02:21pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Read the rule again. It only a violation if A is both the team that last touched it BEFORE it has BC status and the team that first touches AFTER is has BC status. When A touches the ball in the backcourt, giving it backcourt status, they will still be touching it after the initial contact thus they are the first to touch. However, to see if it is a violation, you must back up in time to see who was the last one to touch it before they touched it. From a prior year book: Quote:
Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Dec 21, 2013 at 01:51pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
It's not, so it isn't. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backcourt or not? | jeremy341a | Basketball | 26 | Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:37am |
Backcourt? | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 26 | Sun Oct 09, 2011 10:14pm |
backcourt or no backcourt | cmathews | Basketball | 6 | Fri Feb 18, 2005 05:06pm |
Backcourt or not? | johnyd | Basketball | 5 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:03pm |
Backcourt or not? | moref | Basketball | 15 | Wed Jan 05, 2005 04:12pm |