The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 201
Let it Bounce...

Unless I'm missing something here, I going to agree with the original post, violation. Yes the ball was tipped by B, bounced in the frontcourt, was in the air over the backcourt (4-4-3) but has not yet touched the floor in the backcourt to gain backcourt status, therefore ball has frontcourt status when A3 catches the ball while touching the backcourt (4-35-1) causing the ball to now have backcourt status. therefore last to touch in frontcourt A-3, first to touch in backcourt A-3, violation.

4-4 ART. 3 . . . A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court. (in this case ball has frontcourt status)

4-4 ART. 4 . . . A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual’s location. (in this case backcourt when A-3 touches ball)

4-35 ART. 1 . . . The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:
a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt. (in this case A-3 has backcourt status)
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.

The last to touch and first to touch happens at the same time.

Had A3 allowed ball to bounce in the backcourt giving the ball backcourt status, then there would be no violation.

I've been told to look at it as if the player were standing out of bounds. If A-3 was out of bounds and B-1 deflected a pass in flight which then hit A-3 who was standing out of bounds, you would award the ball to B, by saying A-3 was the last to touch the ball inbounds and the one that caused it to go out of bounds. So in the backcourt violation question, A-3 was the one that caused the ball to go into the backcourt and was the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 09:47am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The rule does not say anything about who caused it to go into the BC.

The rule says "last to touch before" and "first to touch after". Both "before" and "after" refer to the ball going into the back court. One event cannot be both before and after the same separate event.

I will not be calling this a violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 09:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Consider this situation for those who think this should be called a violation.

A1 has the ball in the BC and throws a pass towards A2 in the FC. B1 jumps from a FC position and interrupts the pass, but is only able to tap it back towards the BC where A1 catches it.

I have to ask those of you who consider the OP a violation, are you calling this one a violation too?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,269
Thats the same thing if A1 FC just throws it to BC A2. Tough luck but still BC.

You can probably get away with not calling it until someone calls you on the carpet for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 10:03am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
One more, for kicks.

A1 dribbling, standing on the division line.

B1 guarding.

B1 reaches down and slaps the ball (dribble over, 3 points no longer applies) and knocks it a) into A1's leg or b) up in the air towards the BC and A2 catches it before it bounces, standing in the BC.

Violations?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Thats the same thing if A1 FC just throws it to BC A2. Tough luck but still BC.
Not even close to the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 11:49am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
For the opening play, I don't think I would call this a violation. The last to touch the ball was team B. I don't think this is a ball in flight is it?

Had a play similar last night. A2 is in front court, B2, tips the ball, and the ball deflects off the foot of A2 then bounces one time in the back court, where A2 picks up the ball. Called a back court.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 21, 2013, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
I posted this not because I have seen it, but it is an interesting case play.
Let's layer this play and break it down:

What is the status of the ball when A-1 passes? Answer: frontcourt

What is the status of the ball when B-1 deflects the ball? Answer: frontcourt

What is the status of the ball when the deflected ball bounces in the frontcourt? Answer: frontcourt

The ball does not have backcourt status until when? Answer: The ball must either touch the floor in the backcourt or be touched by a player or ref with backcourt status or touch the backboard in the backcourt.

When does the ball have backcourt status? Answer: When it was touched by A3.

If the ball doesn't have backcourt status until it is touched by A3, then A3 caused the backcourt status.

If A3 allowed the ball to first touch the floor before catching the ball, then it would be B1 that caused the ball to have backcourt status. Then it would be legal for A3 to touch the ball in the backcourt because A3 did not cause the ball to have backcourt status.

Essentially A3 caused the ball to have backcourt status. Therefore it is a backcourt violation on A3.

If A3 had been standing out of bounds then we would deem that A3 caused the ball to go out of bounds and not B1.

So, if we layer this play and look at the status of the ball and who caused the status of the ball then we must rule this play as a backcourt violation.

However, I agree also that I doubt anyone would give a no-call a second thought.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backcourt or not? jeremy341a Basketball 26 Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:37am
Backcourt? stiffler3492 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 09, 2011 10:14pm
backcourt or no backcourt cmathews Basketball 6 Fri Feb 18, 2005 05:06pm
Backcourt or not? johnyd Basketball 5 Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:03pm
Backcourt or not? moref Basketball 15 Wed Jan 05, 2005 04:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1