The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If the player causes the HB before stepping out of bounds (and I would consult the definition of a held ball), then it's a HB.
If he steps OOB in the process of trying to get a secure hold on the ball (ie, while touching but not having a secure hold on the ball), he has caused the ball to go OOB.
This is exactly what I was thinking.

But,

What if B1 is already OOB, standing on the end line, and he grabs at the ball A1 is holding, resulting in a held ball?

I think it could be a held ball for the same reason you could have a held ball during a throw-in. One player is OOB, the other is on the court.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 08:00pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck Ref View Post
This is exactly what I was thinking.

But,

What if B1 is already OOB, standing on the end line, and he grabs at the ball A1 is holding, resulting in a held ball?

I think it could be a held ball for the same reason you could have a held ball during a throw-in. One player is OOB, the other is on the court.
Except on a throw-in, a player is legally allowed to possess the ball while OOB...in your situation, a player is not allowed to possess the ball while OOB.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck Ref View Post
This is exactly what I was thinking.

But,

What if B1 is already OOB, standing on the end line, and he grabs at the ball A1 is holding, resulting in a held ball?

I think it could be a held ball for the same reason you could have a held ball during a throw-in. One player is OOB, the other is on the court.
Read the rule again. In your play the ball is OOB BECAUSE of being contacted by B1.

In the "throw-in play" the ball is OOB because of another reason (i.e., the throw in).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1