Thread: Oob ?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 03:43pm
BatteryPowered BatteryPowered is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck Ref View Post
The following is a question that came up between some officials the other night.

Player A legally obtains posession of the ball near the end line. Player B ties him up creating an alternating possession throw in. In the process of getting into position to get to the ball, player B is standing with one foot on the out of bounds line. There is no foul and Player B legally and simultaneously posses the ball with Player A.

What is your call and why?

Rule Reference please.
Don't have books so I cannot give a reference but there is no "tie up", as you state player B is OOB. Player B caused the ball to go OOB, ball to A at the spot.

Also from your post, don't see how any player can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with any other player if they are OOB.
Reply With Quote