The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oob ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96788-oob.html)

Redneck Ref Mon Dec 16, 2013 02:59pm

Oob ?
 
The following is a question that came up between some officials the other night.

Player A legally obtains posession of the ball near the end line. Player B ties him up creating an alternating possession throw in. In the process of getting into position to get to the ball, player B is standing with one foot on the out of bounds line. There is no foul and Player B legally and simultaneously posses the ball with Player A.

What is your call and why?

Rule Reference please.

Raymond Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:00pm

I don't have a rules reference, but B1 caused the ball to be OOB.

AremRed Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:03pm

Decide which happened first, the held ball or the player touching OOB and the ball simultaneously. Proceed accordingly.

Scratch85 Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:04pm

7-2-2. Caused to be out of bound by Player B.

BatteryPowered Mon Dec 16, 2013 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redneck Ref (Post 914603)
The following is a question that came up between some officials the other night.

Player A legally obtains posession of the ball near the end line. Player B ties him up creating an alternating possession throw in. In the process of getting into position to get to the ball, player B is standing with one foot on the out of bounds line. There is no foul and Player B legally and simultaneously posses the ball with Player A.

What is your call and why?

Rule Reference please.

Don't have books so I cannot give a reference but there is no "tie up", as you state player B is OOB. Player B caused the ball to go OOB, ball to A at the spot.

Also from your post, don't see how any player can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with any other player if they are OOB.

RookieDude Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BatteryPowered (Post 914622)
... don't see how any player can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with any other player if they are OOB.

Can a player OOB, on a throw-in, "posses the ball" with another player on the inbounds side "legally and simultaneously"?

7.6.4 Sit. A

While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (b)simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

RULING: (b) score two points for Team B

BatteryPowered Mon Dec 16, 2013 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RookieDude (Post 914625)
Can a player OOB, on a throw-in, "posses the ball" with another player on the inbounds side "legally and simultaneously"?

7.6.4 Sit. A

While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (b)simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

RULING: (b) score two points for Team B

Okay...I can't think of MANY ways a player OOB can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with another player :D

Redneck Ref Mon Dec 16, 2013 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 914606)
7-2-2. Caused to be out of bound by Player B.

"...if the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside a boudary line, such player causes it to go out."

I see this play as a player standing OOB and the ball touches them for whatever reason.

Not the held ball situation in my OP.

Adam Mon Dec 16, 2013 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redneck Ref (Post 914639)
"...if the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside a boudary line, such player causes it to go out."

I see this play as a player standing OOB and the ball touches them for whatever reason.

Not the held ball situation in my OP.

If the player causes the HB before stepping out of bounds (and I would consult the definition of a held ball), then it's a HB.
If he steps OOB in the process of trying to get a secure hold on the ball (ie, while touching but not having a secure hold on the ball), he has caused the ball to go OOB.

Redneck Ref Mon Dec 16, 2013 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 914641)
If the player causes the HB before stepping out of bounds (and I would consult the definition of a held ball), then it's a HB.
If he steps OOB in the process of trying to get a secure hold on the ball (ie, while touching but not having a secure hold on the ball), he has caused the ball to go OOB.

This is exactly what I was thinking.

But,

What if B1 is already OOB, standing on the end line, and he grabs at the ball A1 is holding, resulting in a held ball?

I think it could be a held ball for the same reason you could have a held ball during a throw-in. One player is OOB, the other is on the court.

APG Mon Dec 16, 2013 08:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redneck Ref (Post 914649)
This is exactly what I was thinking.

But,

What if B1 is already OOB, standing on the end line, and he grabs at the ball A1 is holding, resulting in a held ball?

I think it could be a held ball for the same reason you could have a held ball during a throw-in. One player is OOB, the other is on the court.

Except on a throw-in, a player is legally allowed to possess the ball while OOB...in your situation, a player is not allowed to possess the ball while OOB.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 16, 2013 08:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Redneck Ref (Post 914649)
This is exactly what I was thinking.

But,

What if B1 is already OOB, standing on the end line, and he grabs at the ball A1 is holding, resulting in a held ball?

I think it could be a held ball for the same reason you could have a held ball during a throw-in. One player is OOB, the other is on the court.

Read the rule again. In your play the ball is OOB BECAUSE of being contacted by B1.

In the "throw-in play" the ball is OOB because of another reason (i.e., the throw in).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1