The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 88
Oob ?

The following is a question that came up between some officials the other night.

Player A legally obtains posession of the ball near the end line. Player B ties him up creating an alternating possession throw in. In the process of getting into position to get to the ball, player B is standing with one foot on the out of bounds line. There is no foul and Player B legally and simultaneously posses the ball with Player A.

What is your call and why?

Rule Reference please.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 03:00pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
I don't have a rules reference, but B1 caused the ball to be OOB.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 03:03pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Decide which happened first, the held ball or the player touching OOB and the ball simultaneously. Proceed accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
7-2-2. Caused to be out of bound by Player B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
7-2-2. Caused to be out of bound by Player B.
"...if the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside a boudary line, such player causes it to go out."

I see this play as a player standing OOB and the ball touches them for whatever reason.

Not the held ball situation in my OP.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 05:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck Ref View Post
"...if the ball is out of bounds because of touching or being touched by a player who is on or outside a boudary line, such player causes it to go out."

I see this play as a player standing OOB and the ball touches them for whatever reason.

Not the held ball situation in my OP.
If the player causes the HB before stepping out of bounds (and I would consult the definition of a held ball), then it's a HB.
If he steps OOB in the process of trying to get a secure hold on the ball (ie, while touching but not having a secure hold on the ball), he has caused the ball to go OOB.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redneck Ref View Post
The following is a question that came up between some officials the other night.

Player A legally obtains posession of the ball near the end line. Player B ties him up creating an alternating possession throw in. In the process of getting into position to get to the ball, player B is standing with one foot on the out of bounds line. There is no foul and Player B legally and simultaneously posses the ball with Player A.

What is your call and why?

Rule Reference please.
Don't have books so I cannot give a reference but there is no "tie up", as you state player B is OOB. Player B caused the ball to go OOB, ball to A at the spot.

Also from your post, don't see how any player can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with any other player if they are OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatteryPowered View Post
... don't see how any player can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with any other player if they are OOB.
Can a player OOB, on a throw-in, "posses the ball" with another player on the inbounds side "legally and simultaneously"?

7.6.4 Sit. A

While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (b)simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

RULING: (b) score two points for Team B
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA

Last edited by RookieDude; Mon Dec 16, 2013 at 04:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
Can a player OOB, on a throw-in, "posses the ball" with another player on the inbounds side "legally and simultaneously"?

7.6.4 Sit. A

While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1 (b)simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B's basket.

RULING: (b) score two points for Team B
Okay...I can't think of MANY ways a player OOB can "legally and simultaneously" posses the ball with another player
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1