The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 13, 2013, 11:24am

lacking effort

Hello
I'm basically still a rookie official so I have some questions. First, I worked a game last night with a veteran official who was acting very lazy with his mechanics, communication and his effort in getting up and down the floor. I didn't say anything because i am new to the association and he was a veteran. What should I do in this situation?
Second, we had a double whistle last night. I had a timeout and he had a foul. The veteran was offering no advice so we gave the foul to team A and awarded the coach from team B his timeout. Neither coach argued but just curious if we were correct.
Old Fri Dec 13, 2013, 11:27am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by gojeremy View Post
Hello
I'm basically still a rookie official so I have some questions. First, I worked a game last night with a veteran official who was acting very lazy with his mechanics, communication and his effort in getting up and down the floor. I didn't say anything because i am new to the association and he was a veteran. What should I do in this situation?
Remember it when you become the veteran working with a rookie.

If he's not switching properly or something, tell him you need the practice so would like to do it correctly.

Quote:
Second, we had a double whistle last night. I had a timeout and he had a foul. The veteran was offering no advice so we gave the foul to team A and awarded the coach from team B his timeout. Neither coach argued but just curious if we were correct.
You should get together to decide which came first. If it was the TO, then ignore the foul (unless it was intentional or flagrant). If it was the foul, then ask the coach if he still wants the TO (especially if the request was because his player was trapped, or a count was about to expire, etc.)