The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 02:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
1) I grant the time out. I would consider the ball still at A's disposal.
(8-3-a: The ball is at the disposal or in control of a player of his/her team)

2) Violation. Spot throw in from the endline for B.

3a) I'm going with no violation (may change my mind once I hear what others have). I'm treating the wall like the floor out of bounds and considering this like a dribble - and there is no restriction on dribbling during a throw in.

3b) I'm calling a Violation (and I'm looking through the rule book now to see if I can figure out why).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 02:43pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post

3b) I'm calling a Violation (and I'm looking through the rule book now to see if I can figure out why).

Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.
No ... I know it is a violation by rule, so I'm calling it if I see it in a game. I just don't have the rule citation memorized. It is something like the ball must be released directly onto the court - just can't find it at the moment.

Edit:
My reason for a violation in 3b is Rule 9-2-2: The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out of bounds ... A pass off the wall onto the court does not meet this provision so I call a violation when touched. If no one touches it, I call a violation when it goes out of bounds untouched.

Last edited by HokiePaul; Wed Dec 11, 2013 at 02:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 02:50pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Check in rule 9, there might be some help for you there.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
No ... I know it is a violation by rule, so I'm calling it if I see it in a game. I just don't have the rule citation memorized. It is something like the ball must be released directly onto the court - just can't find it at the moment.
Try 9-2-2, and Case Book 9.2.2 A (a) and (b), which have to do with (The ball shall be passed directly into the court from out-of-bounds...).
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Try 9-2-2, and Case Book 9.2.2 A (a) and (b), which have to do with (The ball shall be passed directly into the court from out-of-bounds...).
Thanks. And the case 9.2.2 D seems to me to support the ruling that the actions in the OP 3a are legal. "Ruling: A player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in".

It specifically mentions "out-of-bounds area" instead of "floor" so I'm keeping my 5 second count as the player bounces the ball off of the wall to themselves out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Thanks. And the case 9.2.2 D seems to me to support the ruling that the actions in the OP 3a are legal. "Ruling: A player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in".

It specifically mentions "out-of-bounds area" instead of "floor" so I'm keeping my 5 second count as the player bounces the ball off of the wall to themselves out of bounds.
While it does say area, I think it would be pretty safe to assume they really meant area of the floor.

That said, I'm also OK with being liberal with it and ruling it to not be a violation. In the spirit of this rule, it doesn't really match the violations on the throwin going directly OOB because the thrower was just bouncing it to himself/herself (like dribble but not technically a dribble). They gain absolutely nothing by doing so...and probably just waste time that could have been used for the throwin.

As for situation #1, I've got a violation as soon as it passed the plane of the sideline. The throwin can only be made along the endline, not the endline extended, and the ball is no longer along the endline but is in an OOB area where no thowin can be made.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 12, 2013, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post

As for situation #1, I've got a violation as soon as it passed the plane of the sideline. The throwin can only be made along the endline, not the endline extended, and the ball is no longer along the endline but is in an OOB area where no thowin can be made.
Interesting thought -- although technically the throwin hasn't been "made" yet and it still could be made along the endline if recovered quickly enough.

Would anyone else call a violation immediately if a player moved endline "extended" or would the call be made only if the ball was released on a throwin from this position. Since there is no line, it would have to be a judgement call as to whether or not the thrower crossed the sideline plane. Also, depending on where you positioned (and whether it is 2 or 3 man), this sideline call might be your partners line/call.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2013, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
It specifically mentions "out-of-bounds area" instead of "floor" so I'm keeping my 5 second count as the player bounces the ball off of the wall to themselves out of bounds.
Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 12, 2013, 06:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?
Sure. Once. Then the ball would go to the other team due to the violation.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 12, 2013, 08:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
Would you also allow them to bounce it off the back of the backboard?
Not really a good comparison to the play in question.

I see it more like the thrower backing up and touching the wall behind them. Whether the player touches the wall or the ball touches the wall in the out of bounds area, there is no depth restriction on the throw in so I'm not seeing a rule being violated in this specific instance.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 12, 2013, 10:26am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
Is it a habit of yours to call things a certain way and then worry about the rules backing later? This is especially silly since you are not on a court being asked to make the call in real time. Instead you have the opportunity to find the correct answer first and then post.
Lighten up, Frances.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP Throw-in or Not (Fed rules) McMac Basketball 13 Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:01pm
Designated Spot Throw-In Rules imagomer Basketball 10 Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:16am
JC game Free Throw issues OHBBREF Basketball 3 Tue Jan 16, 2007 09:21am
throw-in rules dave30 Basketball 5 Tue Feb 28, 2006 09:25pm
free throw lane issues deecee Basketball 97 Mon May 16, 2005 11:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1