The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed May 11, 2005, 12:09am
Official Forum Member

Exclamation

Alright -- how's it going? This is my first time posting and I came across a rather weird issue today which I have not come across in my 6 years of officiating.

Adult league championship game -- 30 seconds left team A up by 2 and shooting 2 free throws -- team A occupies the second spot and Team B big man goes to match up with Team A big man -- Team A big man then goes to move across the lane and team b big man follows him so he can box him out -- Now mind you I still have the ball -- once team b big man positions himself team A big man starts to go back across to the other side -- its like free throw musical chairs -- i ask him the next spot he goes to he better stay there -- team b big man now stays across from him as i administer free throw #1 -- shooter misses first shot. team B big man now goes to line up next to Team A big man -- Team A big man begins to play same game and I ask him to stay at his next spot -- he then turns around because team b big man was following him -- I "T" him up (team A big man) since I had asked him 3 times by now to pick a spot and stay there. I clear the lane and his player now misses the second shot.

On the way down hes complaining that I cost them the game -- to which I reply "No you cost your team the game" -- I cannot find in the rule book who gets to designate the spots -- offense or defense -- so that this can be prevented.

Normal high School rules apply here. Now I "T'd" him up because a delay of game was not needed -- i had asked him 3 times and he kept pushing the limit -- In my opinion a delay of game warning would have been unfair to team b as they were just trying to get the best matchup and he was being disruptive to the game.

Hope this makes sense -- cuz it got me...
Old Wed May 11, 2005, 02:43am
Official Forum Member