![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The correctable error has to be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. Changing possession doesn't constitute a dead ball.
A2 shoots 1 and 1 (should be 2 shots)= live ball misses first one, B1 rebounds = live ball A2 steals ball = live ball B3 rejects shot, B4 has possession = live ball ball goes out of bounds = dead ball scorer realizes they made an error on free throws = correctable. |
|
|||
|
This is funny, I was reading this yesterday and noticed that as well. The one that really sounded funny to me was in that same section where there is a foul and Team A should be in the 1 and 1, but the officials allow A to inbound, Team A scores, then the error is caught. The case book says count the bucket and allow A to shoot bonus free throws. That just sounded wrong to me.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Because we could potentially give team A two possessions for the price of one, like Bob said. In this case, am I reading it right that once the next dead ball has ended the error can no longer be corrected? So this means that if team B inbounds the ball following the basket in question, its too late? Play on?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Still, you won't get a definitive answer here -- most (I think) think that case A is wrong, but since they haven't changed it, you need to decide on your own what to do. H really has nothing to do with this. The "change of posession" only applies when ther is a failure to award FTs; in H unmerited FTs were awarded. |
|
|||
|
There was on contradiction until a few years ago. Until then, B, having earned the rebound would get the ball after the correction. The ball is in A's possession for the FTs and when B rebounds the ball, that is a change of possession. I'm going with that if it ever happens in my game.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
This is different from when A gets shots and were supposed to get none. The error occurs as soon as A is granted the unmerited free throw. The rebound by B would be a change of possession after the error. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
There's no doubt that the first case is still correctable (so A gets the FTs) -- the question is do you resume with a throw in to B or resume from A's FTs? Does the "unless there has been no change of possession" clause in the rule apply? If you believe the case, then the answer is "yes". Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correctable Error appeal/Stop play during a live ball? | BayStateRef | Basketball | 16 | Tue Dec 18, 2012 04:28pm |
| Marquette-St. John's Correctable Error Play | Marcusmav | Basketball | 7 | Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:31am |
| New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment | CallMeMrRef | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm |
| Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
| Another Correctable Error Play | Blackhawk357 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm |