The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Why does that sound wrong? We don't want to cancel any action that has occurred.
Because we could potentially give team A two possessions for the price of one, like Bob said. In this case, am I reading it right that once the next dead ball has ended the error can no longer be corrected? So this means that if team B inbounds the ball following the basket in question, its too late? Play on?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Still looking for the answer.....if you consider Situation H a change of possession dont you have to consider Situation A a change of possession........
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by phife23 View Post
Still looking for the answer.....if you consider Situation H a change of possession dont you have to consider Situation A a change of possession........
You can look at 2.10.1G (2011-12 reference -- the one with the held ball) to get an idea of what the FED considers change of posession -- and it seems to be "change ... after the clock starts", so in A there has been no change (B had it the whole time the clock was running)

Still, you won't get a definitive answer here -- most (I think) think that case A is wrong, but since they haven't changed it, you need to decide on your own what to do.

H really has nothing to do with this. The "change of posession" only applies when ther is a failure to award FTs; in H unmerited FTs were awarded.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 28, 2013, 02:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
There was on contradiction until a few years ago. Until then, B, having earned the rebound would get the ball after the correction. The ball is in A's possession for the FTs and when B rebounds the ball, that is a change of possession. I'm going with that if it ever happens in my game.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2013, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
There was on contradiction until a few years ago. Until then, B, having earned the rebound would get the ball after the correction. The ball is in A's possession for the FTs and when B rebounds the ball, that is a change of possession. I'm going with that if it ever happens in my game.
That's how I'm handling it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 29, 2013, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by phife23 View Post
Still looking for the answer.....if you consider Situation H a change of possession dont you have to consider Situation A a change of possession........
one thought ... In the case where the player is supposed to get 2 and only gets 1 and 1, the error hasn't occured when the ball is at A's disposal. The error only occurs when B rebounds and A is not awarded the 2nd shot. So there has been no change in possession after the error. "Anouncing" 1 and 1 is not the error so at no point during A's possession during the free throw has an error occured.

This is different from when A gets shots and were supposed to get none. The error occurs as soon as A is granted the unmerited free throw. The rebound by B would be a change of possession after the error.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 27, 2013, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Because we could potentially give team A two possessions for the price of one, like Bob said. In this case, am I reading it right that once the next dead ball has ended the error can no longer be corrected? So this means that if team B inbounds the ball following the basket in question, its too late? Play on?
It's the next dead ball after the clock has started. And, B doesn't even need to inbound the ball -- it just needs to be at their disposal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable Error appeal/Stop play during a live ball? BayStateRef Basketball 16 Tue Dec 18, 2012 04:28pm
Marquette-St. John's Correctable Error Play Marcusmav Basketball 7 Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:31am
New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment CallMeMrRef Basketball 7 Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? rpirtle Basketball 3 Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm
Another Correctable Error Play Blackhawk357 Basketball 4 Tue Feb 18, 2003 08:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1