![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 It seems to me, that there are two choices . . . POI may be considered the throw-in by A, and thus we re-do the throw-in, or, we treat the scenario as the throw-in having been completed, (when the ball was touched by B) but with no team control having been established on the court, we may go to an AP throw-in. Presently, I favor the latter. But I'm willing to consider other opinions. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .  
			 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 From our state director of officiating, thru the NFHS. We have been told this is the interpretation of the NFHS as well.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I agree, if the ball went directly from thrower-in A to the bottom of the backboard, but the scenario posed by BNR has the ball being deflected by B, and then hitting the bottom of the backboard.  I understand that the throw-in ended when the ball was "deflected by B."
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .  
			 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			7.1.2 Situation A
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Last edited by OKREF; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 11:51am.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 2011-12 Rules changes Several definitions were changed to reflect that team control now exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul penalties will be administered. Not saying you're wrong, and I do understand what you're saying. Just know how we have been instructed to apply the rule. Last edited by OKREF; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 11:53am.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 My guess is that the play(s) in this thread were not considered when someone decided to give additional guidance. Stil, "when in Rome..."  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 My take: The AP throwin has ended, but TC has not. Give the ball back to A, but the arrow is now with B so if there's a foul before the next throw-in ends, B still has the arrow.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I agree with this.  They wanted to address fouls and created more confusion by doing so.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			I can see this point.  Maybe I'm wrong.  Will have to find out what our rules interpreter says.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 If I'm understanding this correctly, if TC by the throw-in team ends when the throw-in ends, (that is, when the deflection by B occurs) and the deflection doesn't constitute TC by the opponent, then an AP should follow the IW. And, if TC for the throw-in persists until either team establishes TC on the floor, the IW would result in a throw-in for the original throw-in team. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
			To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .  
			Last edited by Rob1968; Thu Nov 28, 2013 at 02:09pm. Reason: spelling  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  
		 | 
![]()  | 
	
	
		
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Team Control on Throw In | Bishopcolle | Basketball | 7 | Wed Nov 23, 2011 04:23pm | 
| Team Control/Throw In After Made FG | JW100 | Basketball | 26 | Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am | 
| Team Control during Throw in | Remington | Basketball | 21 | Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm | 
| Team control exception on throw ins | Buckley11 | Basketball | 18 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am |