![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
That's what I'm doing. I have to be able to explain what I've done on the floor against the rule book, not the case book. I'm more than comfortable telling someone that the case book is wrong.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
|
Opposites Attract ???
I'm actually more comfortable telling a coach, or a fellow official, that the case book is the "bottom" line in regard to an interpretation. Casebook plays are much more "specific" then the generic rules in the rulebook.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
|
|||
|
This seems absolutely asinine to me. And I mean that in the nicest possible way.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
|||
|
Specificity ...
Quote:
With the exception of a casebook plays that may have became out of date, that may not have kept up with rule changes due to an oversight by the editor, I'm going with the casebook interpretation almost every time.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 16, 2013 at 07:14am. |
|
|||
|
Clarification!!!
NOTE: THE "CLARIFICATION" IS BEING CLARIFIED!!!
From Peter Webb, IAABO Coordinator of Interpreters & Trainers: "By rule, player A-6 simply can not participate/play while wearing excessive logos on jersey (3.5). Just as a player A-5 with a jersey not tucked into pants (3.3.5), can not participate/play and is directed to leave the game. THERE IS NO PENALTY - simply not allowed entry or directed to return to the bench. Until the excessive logos are removed or the jersey is worn properly, the team member can not return as a player. Technical Foul would be the penalty for 3.2.2 c, d, e, & 10.1.2 Penalty Technical Foul would be the penalty for illegal number 3.4 d The Technical Foul penalty regarding uniforms primarily has to do with numbers and prior to the game. Additionally, a player wearing an illegal number is charged with a Technical Foul, but can play while wearing the number. A team member with excessive logos or over sized logos on jersey can not play. I hope the above response is of help. I will make a note to bring the matter to the attention of the NFHS Rules Editor next spring. Some editing might help the clarity."
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) Last edited by JetMetFan; Sun Nov 17, 2013 at 11:14am. |
|
|||
|
The bit about a player being charged with a technical foul for an illegal number is wrong...it's a direct to the coach...just like any other infraction for an illegal jersey (save for this recent interpretation).
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Logo placement | Sharpshooternes | Basketball | 34 | Thu Oct 10, 2013 05:27pm |
| Logo Question | packersowner | Basketball | 2 | Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:12pm |
| Logo | nsc_wa | Softball | 19 | Thu May 10, 2012 10:01pm |
| Logo Question | Jfpdi | Basketball | 17 | Sun Jan 30, 2011 09:02pm |
| Fox 40 and Logo | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 10 | Sun Feb 27, 2005 09:03pm |