The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 10, 2013, 01:39am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In NCAA you have to have a pivot foot in order to travel, so catching the ball in mid-air and falling to the ground is not a travel.
This is not true. A player does not establish a pivot foot until that player steps with one foot while keeping the other foot at its point of contact with the floor. A player who catches a pass with both feet on the floor and does not move either foot has not established a pivot. If this player jumps in the air to shoot but drops the ball to the floor because the defense has prevented him from taking a shot and then is the first to touch the ball, he has committed a traveling violation.

Further, when the player controls the ball with both feet off the court, the first foot that lands is his pivot foot. It doesn't matter if this player is falling while in control of the ball, whatever foot hits first is his pivot foot. If he moves that foot, he has traveled.

The play in the video is not travel because it doesn't look as though the player had control of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 10, 2013, 02:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
This is not true. A player does not establish a pivot foot until that player steps with one foot while keeping the other foot at its point of contact with the floor. A player who catches a pass with both feet on the floor and does not move either foot has not established a pivot. If this player jumps in the air to shoot but drops the ball to the floor because the defense has prevented him from taking a shot and then is the first to touch the ball, he has committed a traveling violation.

Further, when the player controls the ball with both feet off the court, the first foot that lands is his pivot foot. It doesn't matter if this player is falling while in control of the ball, whatever foot hits first is his pivot foot. If he moves that foot, he has traveled.

The play in the video is not travel because it doesn't look as though the player had control of the ball.
In the play from the video I agree:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In this video, no travel as A1 never established a pivot foot while in possession of the ball.
But, if a player lands on his butt or his back it is not a travel because he never established a pivot, which happened in the very first game I ever officiated (military intramurals using NCAA rules). That is the first rule I ever looked up because the person working with me said I should have called a travel.

There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sun Nov 10, 2013 at 03:18am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 10, 2013, 12:57pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the play from the video I agree:

But, if a player lands on his butt or his back it is not a travel because he never established a pivot, which happened in the very first game I ever officiated (military intramurals using NCAA rules). That is the first rule I ever looked up because the person working with me said I should have called a travel.

There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.
I took an informal survey of 5 guys I know who work men's college basketball ranging in level from NAIA/D3 up to D1 working in BCS conferences. None of them said they would not call a travel on the player landing on his butt. None of them changed their mind or opinion even after I read them the rule as you pointed it out about the pivot foot. I know that doesn't make travel the right call and that it is a small sample size, but I would venture to guess you would be in the very small minority of people that do not call this a travel. It would be nice for some clarification on this issue. But I think your interpretation is an unintended consequence of a poorly worded rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 10, 2013, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
But, if a player lands on his butt or his back it is not a travel because he never established a pivot, which happened in the very first game I ever officiated (military intramurals using NCAA rules). That is the first rule I ever looked up because the person working with me said I should have called a travel.

There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.
Right, because if that was the case any time a player dove for a ball, caught it, then landed while still holding the ball it would be a travel and as we know – or should know – that player can land and slide all the way down the floor without committing a violation. The “falling to the floor” deal assumes A1 was upright and holding a live ball before (s)he fell.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 10, 2013, 05:18pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Right, because if that was the case any time a player dove for a ball, caught it, then landed while still holding the ball it would be a travel and as we know – or should know – that player can land and slide all the way down the floor without committing a violation. The “falling to the floor” deal assumes A1 was upright and holding a live ball before (s)he fell.

I have to disagree with this statement. The exact wording of the NCAA-M case play in regards to this situation is "Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then because of momentum rolls or slides" This is AR 194 in current case book and is not ruled travel. It does not say the player can gain control while in the air, land, and then slide without a travel being called. That is a very important distinction. Gaining control while already on the ground and sliding and gaining control while airborne and then sliding.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 01:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I have to disagree with this statement. The exact wording of the NCAA-M case play in regards to this situation is "Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then because of momentum rolls or slides" This is AR 194 in current case book and is not ruled travel. It does not say the player can gain control while in the air, land, and then slide without a travel being called. That is a very important distinction. Gaining control while already on the ground and sliding and gaining control while airborne and then sliding.
Agree. If you catch the ball before getting to the floor, you're still liable for traveling. The slide cases don't apply.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 01:31am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree. If you catch the ball before getting to the floor, you're still liable for traveling. The slide cases don't apply.
No case play applies at the NCAA level. Haven't read anything in the NCAA books that tells me an airborne players gaining PC, travels if he lands on his butt/back/stomach.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 05:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Orange, NJ
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
No case play applies at the NCAA level. Haven't read anything in the NCAA books that tells me an airborne players gaining PC, travels if he lands on his butt/back/stomach.
Agreed and the next time I see an NCAAW or NCAAM player called for a travel when (s)he dives for a ball, catches it then hits the floor will be the first.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 08:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
Right, because if that was the case any time a player dove for a ball, caught it, then landed while still holding the ball it would be a travel and as we know – or should know – that player can land and slide all the way down the floor without committing a violation. The “falling to the floor” deal assumes A1 was upright and holding a live ball before (s)he fell.
I disagree, with respect to NFHS rules. No such assumption is made, and any player who falls to the floor with possession of the ball has traveled regardless of his initial position.

Players are only exempt from this if they gain control while already on the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
Does it matter how the player fell, say on his butt? Maybe there was an incidental contact that made him loose balance and fall on his butt?

Also this means if a player dives for a would be out of bound ball and doesn't let go of the ball before his body reach the floor he gets a travel? In this case what if he let go of the ball after getting the ball and let's go of the ball before his body touches the floor and regain possession of the ball after he's on the floor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I disagree, with respect to NFHS rules. No such assumption is made, and any player who falls to the floor with possession of the ball has traveled regardless of his initial position.

Players are only exempt from this if they gain control while already on the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 10:25am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
Does it matter how the player fell, say on his butt? Maybe there was an incidental contact that made him loose balance and fall on his butt?
Of course this matters. Incidental contact means it has no effect on the play, so a travel would still be the call. Non-incidental contact would be a foul on the offending player, causing the ball to become dead so the travel would not matter.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 12:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
Of course this matters. Incidental contact means it has no effect on the play, so a travel would still be the call. Non-incidental contact would be a foul on the offending player, causing the ball to become dead so the travel would not matter.
Incidental contact does not necessarily mean it had no impact. Incidental contact could also be contact for which the player who fell is responsible, or contact for which neither player was responsible; even if that contact knocks one or both players to the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
Does it matter how the player fell, say on his butt? Maybe there was an incidental contact that made him loose balance and fall on his butt?
Impossible. If the contact "made him loose [sic] balance" then it wasn't incidental.

Quote:
Also this means if a player dives for a would be out of bound ball and doesn't let go of the ball before his body reach the floor he gets a travel?
No. He "gets" an OOB violation.

Quote:
In this case what if he let go of the ball after getting the ball and let's go of the ball before his body touches the floor and regain possession of the ball after he's on the floor?
If he's still OOB, then it's an OOB violation. If he's inbounds, then it's legal. He might have "used" his dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 06:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I disagree, with respect to NFHS rules. No such assumption is made, and any player who falls to the floor with possession of the ball has traveled regardless of his initial position.

Players are only exempt from this if they gain control while already on the floor.
In the NFHS it's clearly spelled out with a case play, so definitely no dispute there.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 11, 2013, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the NFHS it's clearly spelled out with a case play, so definitely no dispute there.
And the rule is clear (at least to me)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dayton/Xavier jeschmit Basketball 1 Thu Jan 31, 2013 07:30am
Iowa/Dayton ASA/NYSSOBLUE Baseball 24 Sun Jul 27, 2008 02:24pm
umpire school near dayton ohio? help! r2young3390 Softball 1 Sun Aug 08, 2004 06:57pm
DePaul/Dayton whistleone Basketball 19 Fri Mar 19, 2004 06:19pm
looking for refs for tournament in Dayton OH jasonboom Basketball 0 Tue Jan 18, 2000 04:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1