Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan
Agreed and the next time I see an NCAAW or NCAAM player called for a travel when (s)he dives for a ball, catches it then hits the floor will be the first.
|
I agree this call isn't made at either NCAA level. Most likely because the officials are not going to nitpick whether or not the player was in the air while gaining possession or on the ground, but the case play I referenced AR194 clearly states this exception only applies to a player gaining possession while sliding on the court.
This type of play is very different from the play BNR is talking about where the player gains possession of the ball while airborne, such as catching a pass, rebounding or intercepting a pass, and then lands on their back, butt, or any way other than standing. This is called a travel every time. BNR is trying to argue that it cannot be a travel because of the way the rule is worded regarding establishing a pivot foot and I agree that the wording is ambiguous at best. I also think he would be in a very small minority that doesn't call travel on those types of plays and that it would be nice if there was some clarification in the rules or a case book play.