Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence
Wow. Didn't know that. Thanks.
Can you cite that rule.
|
In the NFHS rule book it specifically says that falling to the ground from midair is a travel. (case play
4.44.5 sit A)
In the NCAA rule book it reads:
9-6 Art. 7.
It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.
BTW, in response to a longstanding debate, I came across
A.R. 190:
After:
(1) Receiving a pass; or
(2) Ending a dribble,
A1 jumps into the air on a try for goal, is contested by B1 and since A1 could not get his try for goal off, he voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court. In both (1) and (2), A1 is the first to touch the ball.
RULING: (1) A1 has committed a traveling violation because he did not release the ball before picking up his pivot foot.
(2) A1's release of the ball, after being airborne, was the start of a second dribble. When A1 touched the ball, A1 committed a double-dribble violation.