![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
As for how to handle it... 2.10.1 SITUATION C: A1 is fouled with one second remaining in the second quarter. Team A is awarded a throw-in and A1 passes the ball inbounds to A2, the horn sounds ending the quarter. As officials enter the court from the half-time intermission, the scorer informs the Referee that A1 should have been awarded one-and-one bonus situation. RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. A1 is awarded a one-and-one bonus situation with the lane cleared. Resume play from the point of interruption, which is an alternating-possession throw-in to start the third quarter. (2-10-1a; 2-10-6; 5-6-2 Exception 3)
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
Quote:
Now, I am sure that this has been discussed at length, but how do you decide how much time to put back on the clock if you are unsure? |
|
|||
Quote:
In NCAA with monitors, it can be reviewd to see how much time to put back. |
|
|||
Quote:
If the foul happens just before the horn and with time on the clock, you have a foul. However, if it is so close that the time expires and the horn sounds anyway, you can only put time back if you KNOW how much time to put back. But, if you don't know how much time there should be, you don't cancel the foul, common or otherwise. If you are unsure, 0.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by Sharpshooternes; Sun Oct 13, 2013 at 10:18pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
*If the foul is before the LED/Light/horn THEN one of those things goes off immediately after and none of the officials has definite knowledge how much time was left when the whistle was blown then no, you don't add time. If there are FTs they would be shot with NO players on the lane. *If the foul is before the LED/Light/horn THEN one of those things goes off immediately after and the officials have definite knowledge how much time was left when the whistle was blown then yes, you add time. If there are FTs they would be shot with players on the lane. In all of these cases the foul is reported.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
|
|||
If you call a foul that occurred before the expiration of time you'd better report it, free throws or not. Otherwise you are letting that player get away with a free foul, with no consequences.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Unless it's flagrant, or the FTs are needed, ignore the reporting in this instance. |
|
|||
Quote:
As I look at the OP again I see an issue regarding the wording. It’s completely possible to have a foul with 0:00 on the clock but no horn (no tenths of seconds on the clock), meaning by rule the period isn’t over so it’s not a CE situation…yet. I’m assuming what you meant was foul then horn immediately after but that’s a different scenario than the one in the OP.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example." "If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..." "Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4." "The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
correctable error | phansen | Basketball | 10 | Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:45am |
Correctable Error or Not?? | FeetBallRef | Basketball | 20 | Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:14am |
Correctable Error | SCalScoreKeeper | Basketball | 10 | Mon Aug 06, 2007 09:15pm |
Correctable error??? | Kelvin green | Basketball | 13 | Mon May 14, 2007 12:40pm |
Correctable Error? | nukewhistle | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:10pm |