The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 25, 2013, 03:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 187
So meaning A1 has the right to defend his verticality with his body/arm,

what if:

A1 did not extend his arms into B1's vertical however pushed B1's extended arm away (within A1's verticality) and makes B1 fall down or cause B1 to be displaced while on air?

A1 initiate contacts with B1's extended arm within A1's verticality, would B1 be called for a defensive foul? For example B1 extended his arm towards A1 A1 raises arm to block B1 continues pressing his arm towards A1's blocking hand.



Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
If you put your hands/arms into an opponent's vertical space, the onus is on you if there's contact. So for your second example, if B1 is playing defense with his/her arms reaching towards A1 and A1 moves his/her arms into B1's arms there really can't be a foul called on A1 (assuming A1 doesn't karate chop B1 or something like that).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 25, 2013, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
So meaning A1 has the right to defend his verticality with his body/arm,

what if:

A1 did not extend his arms into B1's vertical however pushed B1's extended arm away (within A1's verticality) and makes B1 fall down or cause B1 to be displaced while on air?

A1 initiate contacts with B1's extended arm within A1's verticality, would B1 be called for a defensive foul? For example B1 extended his arm towards A1 A1 raises arm to block B1 continues pressing his arm towards A1's blocking hand.
As I'm seeing these plays in my mind, both are either fouls on A or no calls.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 25, 2013, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by potato View Post
So meaning A1 has the right to defend his verticality with his body/arm,

what if:

A1 did not extend his arms into B1's vertical however pushed B1's extended arm away (within A1's verticality) and makes B1 fall down or cause B1 to be displaced while on air?

A1 initiate contacts with B1's extended arm within A1's verticality, would B1 be called for a defensive foul? For example B1 extended his arm towards A1 A1 raises arm to block B1 continues pressing his arm towards A1's blocking hand.
If A1 is using their arm to push B1's arm out of the way, then verticality doesn't come into play. There is never a case where a player is permitted to use their arm to push any part of another player.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball Handler OOB? CDurham Basketball 1 Fri Feb 19, 2010 07:49pm
Ball Handler Pushoff Matt S. Basketball 46 Fri Dec 21, 2007 01:20pm
Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball...: The Cover rainmaker Basketball 3 Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:12am
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games drinkeii Basketball 90 Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1