The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 27, 2013, 04:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Let's Take Advantage Of A Teachable Moment ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Interrupted (dribble).
To expound upon Camron Rust's excellent answer, just a few friendly off season reminders: There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. A player control foul cannot be charged during an interrupted dribble. A time out request may not be granted during an interrupted dribble. A closely guarded count should not be started, and if one has already been started, the count should be terminated during an interrupted dribble. The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation. Team control continues during an interrupted dribble. A team control foul can be called during an interrupted dribble. A three second violation can be called during an interrupted dribble.

(Did I cover all of them? Will this help my chances of becoming an esteemed Forum member?)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 27, 2013, 06:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
To expound upon Camron Rust's excellent answer, just a few friendly off season reminders: There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. A player control foul cannot be charged during an interrupted dribble. A time out request may not be granted during an interrupted dribble. A closely guarded count should not be started, and if one has already been started, the count should be terminated during an interrupted dribble. The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation. Team control continues during an interrupted dribble. A team control foul can be called during an interrupted dribble. A three second violation can be called during an interrupted dribble.

(Did I cover all of them? Will this help my chances of becoming an esteemed Forum member?)
Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 27, 2013, 06:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Poker Face ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It seems that the illegal action listed in article three makes your above statement false.
I call your 9-3-3 and raise you a 4-15-6-D: During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.

(If I'm wrong, I hope that it doesn't disqualify me from becoming an esteemed Forum member.)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 27, 2013, 06:36pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
OP says he left "involuntarily." That's not a violation of 9-3-3.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 01:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
Actually, the player involved in an interrupted dribble can be called for an OOB violation under Art. 1 by touching the ball while OOB. It is only the NOTE that they are not subject to violating.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 05:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Actually, the player involved in an interrupted dribble can be called for an OOB violation under Art. 1 by touching the ball while OOB. It is only the NOTE that they are not subject to violating.
I can agree with that.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 05:58am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Dribbleus Interruptus ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Touching the ball while OOB.
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 06:04am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Just A Regular Dribble, Not Interrupted, Friendly Reminder ...

9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 09:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Billy, let me try to clarify this for you. The only rule which a player involved in an interrupted dribble is exempt from is the Note directly under 9-3-1 and that is because he simply is NOT a dribbler! All other rules apply to this player as normal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-15-6-D: During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.
I guess it was unclear to some folks back in the day, if a player violated per 9-1-3 Note during an interrupted dribble, so the NFHS attempted to clarify by crafting this. Of course, this language was written long before 9-3-3 was added to the books. As you know it was previously a technical foul to deliberately leave the court during playing action. So the wording has now gone from poor to very poor. The NFHS should never have written that the player isn't subject to an OOB violation. We have given several examples which demonstrate that he is. What they should have written was that the provision listed for a dribbler in 9-3-1 Note does not apply to a player involved in a interrupted dribble. That's it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 29, 2013, 12:06pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Closure ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The provision listed for a dribbler in 9-3-1 Note does not apply to a player involved in an interrupted dribble ...
... because an interrupted dribbler is no longer a dribbler. So 4-15-6-D (During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.) is correct.

Are we in agreement?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.
Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.
Agree. It might hit the dribbler-interrupted's leg or something in a way that is not a dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 11:59am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree. It might hit the dribbler-interrupted's leg or something in a way that is not a dribble.
Or even his hand as he slaps at the ball attempting to regain control.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 04:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
It's A Question, Notice The Question Mark ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted ...
... and if said player steps on, or over, a boundary line, then it isn't an out of bounds violation, according to 4-15-6-D (During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble)?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jun 28, 2013 at 04:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 04:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Better ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.
Once he dribbles the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jun 28, 2013 at 04:28pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95375-illegal-dribble.html
Posted By For Type Date
Ohio Valley Basketball Officials Association | Cincinnati Ohio This thread Refback Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:29am

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Dribble? Mingram Basketball 2 Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:52pm
Illegal dribble or not..?? rpirtle Basketball 20 Sun Jan 06, 2013 04:48pm
Illegal dribble rbruno Basketball 13 Sun Dec 09, 2012 10:52pm
Illegal dribble? just another ref Basketball 96 Mon Sep 18, 2006 06:58am
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1