View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 28, 2013, 01:23am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.
Actually, the player involved in an interrupted dribble can be called for an OOB violation under Art. 1 by touching the ball while OOB. It is only the NOTE that they are not subject to violating.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote