The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal Dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95375-illegal-dribble.html)

BigT Thu Jun 27, 2013 01:48pm

Illegal Dribble?
 
A1 steals a pass and is heading toward half court. B1 cuts him off and suprises A1. A1 realizing he is running out of Real Estate leaves the ball and involuntarily goes out of bounds. A) He establishes inbound status and picks up the ball b) continues the dribble c) Starts a new dribble.

Looking at 9-5

SECTION 5 ILLEGAL DRIBBLE
A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 . . . A try for field goal.
ART. 2 . . . A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 . . . A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
PENALTY: (Section 5) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is
awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds
spot nearest the violation.

And the case book example..

4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an
opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to
dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble;
(c) the ball hits A1’s foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and
pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to
recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1’s hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble
was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the
dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled.
Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball but may
not dribble again. (9-5)


Which ones are violations and which ones are not.

Thanks in advance...

Camron Rust Thu Jun 27, 2013 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigT (Post 898659)
A1 steals a pass and is heading toward half court. B1 cuts him off and suprises A1. A1 realizing he is running out of Real Estate leaves the ball and involuntarily goes out of bounds. A) He establishes inbound status and picks up the ball b) continues the dribble c) Starts a new dribble.

...

Which ones are violations and which ones are not.

A. Legal.
B. Legal.
C. Not possible until A occurs. Then, it become illegal to start a new dribble.

A1's dribble doesn't end when A1 leaves the ball, it is just interrupted. A1 may resume that dribble or end that dribble legally as long as they are inbounds when they do so.

If A1 is able to leave the ball with B1 so close and still be able to return inbounds and get get the ball, B1 doesn't deserve the benefit of the violation.

BillyMac Thu Jun 27, 2013 04:43pm

Let's Take Advantage Of A Teachable Moment ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 898660)
Interrupted (dribble).

To expound upon Camron Rust's excellent answer, just a few friendly off season reminders: There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. A player control foul cannot be charged during an interrupted dribble. A time out request may not be granted during an interrupted dribble. A closely guarded count should not be started, and if one has already been started, the count should be terminated during an interrupted dribble. The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation. Team control continues during an interrupted dribble. A team control foul can be called during an interrupted dribble. A three second violation can be called during an interrupted dribble.

(Did I cover all of them? Will this help my chances of becoming an esteemed Forum member?)

Nevadaref Thu Jun 27, 2013 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898667)
To expound upon Camron Rust's excellent answer, just a few friendly off season reminders: There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. A player control foul cannot be charged during an interrupted dribble. A time out request may not be granted during an interrupted dribble. A closely guarded count should not be started, and if one has already been started, the count should be terminated during an interrupted dribble. The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation. Team control continues during an interrupted dribble. A team control foul can be called during an interrupted dribble. A three second violation can be called during an interrupted dribble.

(Did I cover all of them? Will this help my chances of becoming an esteemed Forum member?)

Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

BillyMac Thu Jun 27, 2013 06:33pm

Poker Face ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898674)
It seems that the illegal action listed in article three makes your above statement false.

I call your 9-3-3 and raise you a 4-15-6-D: During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.

(If I'm wrong, I hope that it doesn't disqualify me from becoming an esteemed Forum member.)

Adam Thu Jun 27, 2013 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898674)
Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

OP says he left "involuntarily." That's not a violation of 9-3-3.

Camron Rust Fri Jun 28, 2013 01:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898667)
The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898674)
Considering the section heading, it seems that the illegal action listed in article 3 makes your above statement false.


RULE 9
SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.
ART. 2 . . . No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched
by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass.
ART. 3 . . . A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason.

Actually, the player involved in an interrupted dribble can be called for an OOB violation under Art. 1 by touching the ball while OOB. It is only the NOTE that they are not subject to violating.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 28, 2013 05:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 898701)
Actually, the player involved in an interrupted dribble can be called for an OOB violation under Art. 1 by touching the ball while OOB. It is only the NOTE that they are not subject to violating.

I can agree with that.

BillyMac Fri Jun 28, 2013 05:58am

Dribbleus Interruptus ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 898701)
Touching the ball while OOB.

Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

BillyMac Fri Jun 28, 2013 06:04am

Just A Regular Dribble, Not Interrupted, Friendly Reminder ...
 
9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 28, 2013 08:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898710)
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.

Camron Rust Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898710)
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898727)
Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.

Agree. It might hit the dribbler-interrupted's leg or something in a way that is not a dribble.

Adam Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 898745)
Agree. It might hit the dribbler-interrupted's leg or something in a way that is not a dribble.

Or even his hand as he slaps at the ball attempting to regain control.

Toren Fri Jun 28, 2013 12:30pm

I'm having trouble seeing how someone would involuntarily leave the floor from the play described.

Especially since he realized he was running out of real estate...this would seem to me to be exactly why you would voluntarily leave the inbounds.

Adam Fri Jun 28, 2013 12:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 898761)
I'm having trouble seeing how someone would involuntarily leave the floor from the play described.

Especially since he realized he was running out of real estate...this would seem to me to be exactly why you would voluntarily leave the inbounds.

Trying to stop. Slight bump knocks him off course. He merely steps on the line.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1